The Castles of Burgundy» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Not buying Workers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Some Guy
United States
flag msg tools
mb
I'm very new to CoB and while reading up on some strategy, I came a across a lot of people saying never spend dice rolls on workers, or at the very least, only once maybe twice a game. One person said if they spend even one dice roll to buy workers then they feel like they are throwing the game. So how exactly do you do this? It seems like the yellow tile that gives you workers for your mines is the best, but what if you can't get that tile? What if that tile never even comes out in the game?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Israel Waldrom
New Zealand
Dunedin
flag msg tools
and Solo Playtester too ^^
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
My guess is that they would be talking about VP's per action, and buying workers with a dice does not directly contribute towards your VP.

There are other ways to get workers - the knowledge tile that gives you workers with mines, and one that gives workers with the sales of goods, as well as the building tile boarding house that gives 4 workers upon placement.

There are also knowledge tiles that give extra bonuses when buying workers (increasing the number to 4, and getting a silvering along with the workers) that make it more beneficial, and one that makes workers give +/-2 instead of +/-1.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Der Einsielder
Germany
flag msg tools
Microbadge: Einst├╝rzende Neubauten fanMicrobadge: Joy Division fanMicrobadge: The Sisters of Mercy fanMicrobadge: Geocaching fanMicrobadge: German Board Game Championship fan
1. Solution: Play flexible. Position yourself so that any number is good for you. The you don't need any workers

2. Place the city tile that gives you 4 workers

3. Why is the move you mentioned bad? Easy to explain: any die should give you ~4 VP. Taking 2 workers is worth only one VP. So this is an immediately loss of 3 VP!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide