Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Simurgh» Forums » Rules

Subject: Giving up/exchanging workers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sebastian Grawan
Germany
Lehrte
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi!



We're having a slight rules problem with this dragon tile (#67-68).

What's the difference between 'giving up' and 'exchanging' a worker?

Is 'giving up' calling back a worker from an action space?
Is 'exchanging' a worker equal to losing it?

Thanks for any help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B. G. Kubacki
Poland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's basically the same thing. Exchanging a Vassal makes you give it up (you can no longer use the given up Spearman or Dragonrider, at least until you purchase them again).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Grawan
Germany
Lehrte
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for answering!

Then why the two different icons? One with the 'recycle' arrows around the '-Dragonrider' and one without?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Sagel
Netherlands
Groningen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The one with the recycle symbol means "When you give up this type of worker, you can get ...". So it requires a separate action in which you give up a worker.
The other one is exactly such an action. You "pay" a dragonrider and then get something in return.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence Myers
United States
Hillsboro
Oregon
flag msg tools
http://playtmg.com/
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1st ability: When giving up a Spearman, receive
a total of 2 Wood and/or Stone.

2nd ability: When giving up a Dragonrider, receive
2 Stone.

3rd: Exchange 1 Dragonrider for 3 Weapons
and 2 Meat.

So let me see if I understand this?
The first and second abilities mean that when I give up a Vassele somewhere else, I can spend this dragon ability marker to also receive the goods listed in the dragon ability.
The third dragon ability means I spend the dragon ability marker to give up a Vassel to receive the goods (basicly a free action when there is dragon marker to spend).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrei Novac
Poland
Warszawa
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Bogusgig wrote:
1st ability: When giving up a Spearman, receive
a total of 2 Wood and/or Stone.

2nd ability: When giving up a Dragonrider, receive
2 Stone.

3rd: Exchange 1 Dragonrider for 3 Weapons
and 2 Meat.

So let me see if I understand this?
The first and second abilities mean that when I give up a Vassele somewhere else, I can spend this dragon ability marker to also receive the goods listed in the dragon ability.
The third dragon ability means I spend the dragon ability marker to give up a Vassel to receive the goods (basicly a free action when there is dragon marker to spend).
That is correct. You can also combo those abilities, e.g. use rightmost ability to sacrifice a dragonrider and use the middle one to get stone.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Grawan
Germany
Lehrte
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
anovac wrote:
Bogusgig wrote:
1st ability: When giving up a Spearman, receive
a total of 2 Wood and/or Stone.

2nd ability: When giving up a Dragonrider, receive
2 Stone.

3rd: Exchange 1 Dragonrider for 3 Weapons
and 2 Meat.

So let me see if I understand this?
The first and second abilities mean that when I give up a Vassele somewhere else, I can spend this dragon ability marker to also receive the goods listed in the dragon ability.
The third dragon ability means I spend the dragon ability marker to give up a Vassel to receive the goods (basicly a free action when there is dragon marker to spend).
That is correct. You can also combo those abilities, e.g. use rightmost ability to sacrifice a dragonrider and use the middle one to get stone.
I thought you have to use the dragon abilities from left to right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrei Novac
Poland
Warszawa
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
is that written anywhere in the rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paulo Renato
Portugal
Vila Nova Gaia
Porto
flag msg tools
I run through Rahdo's Runthroughs and make right what once went wrong (via annotations)
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rashktah wrote:
anovac wrote:
Bogusgig wrote:
1st ability: When giving up a Spearman, receive
a total of 2 Wood and/or Stone.

2nd ability: When giving up a Dragonrider, receive
2 Stone.

3rd: Exchange 1 Dragonrider for 3 Weapons
and 2 Meat.

So let me see if I understand this?
The first and second abilities mean that when I give up a Vassele somewhere else, I can spend this dragon ability marker to also receive the goods listed in the dragon ability.
The third dragon ability means I spend the dragon ability marker to give up a Vassel to receive the goods (basicly a free action when there is dragon marker to spend).
That is correct. You can also combo those abilities, e.g. use rightmost ability to sacrifice a dragonrider and use the middle one to get stone.
I thought you have to use the dragon abilities from left to right?
You have to fill the Dragon Abilities when you "recharge" them from left to right... to use them you can use anyway you want it
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Grawan
Germany
Lehrte
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great, thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan
United States
WI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm playing this game on the official Tabletop simulator DLC now.

This question came up last night with this specific Dragon tile.
I've read and reread this thread, and I feel just as confused now than before I read it.

I would benefit from a clearer explanation.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarad Bond
United States
Anchorage
Alaska
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dan,

Lawrence Myers' comment above was really good: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/20881379#20881379

I'm restating/paraphrasing what he said, but reformatting it:

Quote:
- 1st ability: When giving up a Spearman somewhere else, spend this dragon token to receive an additional 2 total Wood and/or Stone.

- 2nd ability: When giving up a Dragonrider somewhere else, spend this dragon token to receive an additional 2 Stone.

- 3rd ability: Spend this dragon token in order to exchange (give up) 1 Dragonrider for 3 Weapons and 2 Meat.
(where "giving up" means "permanently lose", not "recall from the board")

Note: If I'm correct, you could use the third ability and also piggyback the second ability on it, because you're giving up a Dragonrider when you use the third ability.

Edits: To help consistency and further clarify...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls