Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Empire of the Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: card #20 "naval battle of Guadalcanal" question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
César Moreno
Spain
Castellon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"If a Japanese BB naval unit occupies a battle hex that contains an Allied air unit, but no Allied BB naval unit, then one Allied air unit (max.) is reduced."

So a japanese BB enters a battle hex with and allied air unit. Allied reacts moving that air unit out of the hex -- still taking part on that battle but technically the hex doesn't contain an allied air unit anymore.

Would the event apply in that situation?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ferro Ostil
United States
New York City
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The card says "prior to air-naval combat" if IIRC. The Offensives Sequence (7.2) should control.

I hadn't noticed this before, but the Sequence calls for "bonuses from the Offensive player's EC card that apply prior to reaction" (Step 5). Then in Step 10, it says to "implement any offensive bonuses that apply after reaction."

So is Card 20 implemented before or after reaction? Other cards, like Operation Cascade call for implementing the bonus "before ANY reaction is possible"
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
César Moreno
Spain
Castellon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
you are right, I missed that key part, even when reading the card in my game: "If, prior to reaction,...".

Sometimes our brain only reads what it wants to read.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls