Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Wing Leader: Victories 1940-1942» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dropping Tallies and the Phrasing of "Attacked". rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Luksich
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rules for dropping tallies, it states

"(6) The tallying squadron is attacked in air combat. If the tallying squadron is already in a dogfight, it keeps the tally on its current squadron, otherwise it now switches its tally to its attacker. Move the tally marker accordingly. If the squadron did not have a tally at all, it automatically places a tally marker on its attacker."

I just want to make sure. Attacked means that the other side is the attacker rather than you are just being shot at? So, a German Bomber Squadron is tallied by a British Fighter Squadron and a German Fighter Squadron has a tally on the Brits. So if the Brits move into the bomber's space and the German Fighters jump into that combat, then all three units are in combat, the German units are the defender (Due to the bomber) and the British Unit can thus keep it's tally on the bomber?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Brimmicombe-Wood
United Kingdom
Ely
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, attacked here means you are the defender.

This has come up previously and Iā€™m aiming to try and clarify this in the second volume rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Luksich
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Cool, just wanted to make sure I read it right. Perhaps adding in a phrase along the lines "A unit drops its tally if defending against another flight or squadron..."

Thanks for the wonderfully active support on BGG Lee!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Luksich
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
To clarify a little further, if we have a different multiple unit situation, let's say British Squadron A had tallied German Fighter Squadron A and was in turned tallied by German Squadron B. If the conditions are such that the Brits are in combat with both, but B was the primary combatant would the tallies not have to change as both German Squadrons A and B count as the attacking side?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Brimmicombe-Wood
United Kingdom
Ely
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't see that the tallies would need to change. The rule only really affects situations where the defender is tallying a squadron outside its current square.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls