Recommend
10 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Combat Commander: Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ordnance ; Assault Fire rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Boulter
United Kingdom
Bristol
UK
flag msg tools
badge
knowledge is power
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Is it a legal play (on a squad carrying a flamethrower/Satchel Charge) to:-

1. Play a Move order to activate it.
2. Move the unit until it is adjacent to a target (within the limits of its movement allowance)
3. Play Assault Fire Action on it.
4. Fire the ordnance weapon? (Drawing a card to hit, etc)


4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't see any reason why an ordnance with a boxed FP couldn't assault fire.

Glossary wrote:
Ordnance—Any Weapon with a white bar
highlighting its stats. Ordnance: must first
hit its intended target before making a Fire
Attack against it; cannot be part of a Fire
Group; cannot participate in Op Fire; and
cannot have its stats increased by a friendly
Leader in the same hex. [O20.2]


11.5 Ordnance wrote:
11.5 Ordnance
Some Weapons – those with a white bar behind
their stats, like the two pictured below
– are termed “Ordnance”. Ordnance:
must first secure a hit via Targeting before
making a Fire Attack Roll [O20.2];
cannot participate in a Fire Group [O20.3.1];
and cannot be used during Opportunity
Fire [A33].


A26. Assault Fire wrote:
Assault Fire may only be played if at least
one unit currently activated to Move (or its
Weapon) has both:
boxed FP, and
an enemy unit within its current Range
and LOS at which to shoot.
Effect—Each Assault Fire Action allows a
single Fire Attack to be made. This attack
may form a Fire Group using any or all moving
units and/or their Weapons that have
boxed FP. The attack otherwise adheres to all
rules and restrictions pertaining to a regular
Fire Attack as if made during a Fire Order
[O20].
5 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Lanphear
United States
Stockton
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gunderian007 wrote:
Rimush wrote:

Is it a legal...



Not only is it Legal, it is Intended.

If a weapon has underlined boxed firepower, this is to allow Assault Fire(AF)

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Assault fire is probably the most terrifying capability of a flamethrower.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cindy Nowak
United States
Kenosha
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chicklewis wrote:
Assault fire is probably the most terrifying capability of a flamethrower.


Especially in the hands of a hero ninja
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ruben Rigillo
Italy
Roma
Rm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Gunderian007 wrote:
StocktonDave wrote:


If a weapon has underlined boxed firepower, this is to allow Assault Fire(AF)



OMG caught in an ASL-reference mistake!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Combat Commander wrote:
What would happen if you assault fired but then due to event or trigger there was no legal hex to make the required move to have been able to use the Move Order. I assume you'd have gotten off a free assault fire,

You are obliged to do a legal move if possible, but of course if it is impossible to make a legal move, then surely you don't.

Similarly if e.g. the sole unit which you activated to move was no longer on the map (due to various possible crazy reasons left as an exercise for the reader), you would of course not be obliged to move that nonexistent unit.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.