Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

T.I.M.E Stories» Forums » Rules

Subject: Beacons (possible spoilers) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nathan Worcester
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am a bit confused on how the beacons work. I initially found these when I first opened the game I punched them out of the cardboard into the box. I now realize that they were supposed to be "hidden." We finished the Asylum scenario and acquired a pink beacon.

What do each of the beacons do?
When it says discard the beacon is that for the entire scenario or per run?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich P
United Kingdom
Sheffield
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I didn't know what to do with my UberBadge, so I left it as a GeekBadge.
badge
Planning...
Avatar
Microbadge: GameChat League - Phoenix Division: "Like a phoenix rising from the ashes..."Microbadge: A Study in Emerald fanMicrobadge: Built to Spill fanMicrobadge: Age of Steam fanMicrobadge: The 7th Continent
The symbols on them are explained in the rulebook, aren't they? There's a list of icons somewhere towards the end of the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Worcester
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
woodnoggin wrote:
The symbols on them are explained in the rulebook, aren't they? There's a list of icons somewhere towards the end of the rules.
Just double-checked and I see some of the icons there but not all of them. What does the black square do? What about the permanent icon? Are they used once per scenario, or once per run?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yeah, the last three beacons in the insert (permanent icon, the heart, and the cube) are only obtainable if you finish within one run, and I don't think they're explained yet. They're mysterious for now, that's my take on it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerhard E. Kodys
Austria
Wien
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Nate23VT wrote:
What does the black square do?
You get the black cube beacon, if...

Spoiler (click to reveal)
...you can find the item whilst playing Asylum. The use is unexplained, but "it might be handy in the future".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich H.
United States
Petaluma
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
gerraldo wrote:
Nate23VT wrote:
What does the black square do?
You get the black cube beacon, if...

Spoiler (click to reveal)
...you can find the item whilst playing Asylum. The use is unexplained, but "it might be handy in the future".
Where
Spoiler (click to reveal)
for the item in asylum
does it tell you to take the black cube beacon?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Cooper
United Kingdom
Taunton
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nate23VT wrote:
When it says discard the beacon is that for the entire scenario or per run?
It's a one use item. Once used put it back in the box until you earn it again.

EDIT: It's been confirmed that beacons are one use items that, once used, cannot be re-acquired. See the thread on Beacons.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerhard E. Kodys
Austria
Wien
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
meatwad000 wrote:
Where
Spoiler (click to reveal)
for the item in asylum
does it tell you to take the black cube beacon?
Nowhere...
But the card for the black cube told us we've earned it and can keep it for future use. So it seemed obvious (though nowhere explained) to keep the beacon and not the card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Cooper
United Kingdom
Taunton
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
meatwad000 wrote:
Where
Spoiler (click to reveal)
for the item in asylum
does it tell you to take the black cube beacon?
You do not gain a beacon, you keep the card.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls