Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Controlling Monsters on base with "Control Minion" actions? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Keith Hahto
msg tools
Ok, so can you control a monster card currently adding power to the break point of a base with an action card saying "control minion"
Ex. "Can haz cheeseburger?" (Kitty Cats) taking control of a monster on a base?

Are monsters just considered minions in most cases, even though there are specific cards (Mages) that say to control monster?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Lee
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It depends on the wording of the card, because Monsters are minions but not under the control of any players. So if the card refers to minions in general, it is acceptable, but if the card refers to "other players' minions", it will not affect monsters (affects Bear Cav, especially).

In terms of control minions:
- The Ghosts' Make Contact works on monsters. ("Play on a minion")
- Control Minion works on monsters if played during your turn ("choose a minion") but not during its special timing ("Special: Play when another player plays a minion")
- Muffin works on monsters. ("Take control of a minion")
- Can has Cheeseburger? works on monsters ("Take control of a minion there")

I'll note that once a monster is under a player's control, then it is susceptible to cards that affect "other players' minions".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel F
msg tools
mbmbmb
Parsat wrote:
- Control Minion works on monsters if played during your turn ("choose a minion") but not during its special timing ("Special: Play when another player plays a minion")
What if another player is playing a Monster with a card like Taunter or Mass Summoning? I would guess that even though it is still not that player's monster, you could still activate the special because the other person is playing it--what do you think?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johnathon Stanford-Carey
United States
California
flag msg tools
I disagree with Passat's ruling on "Control Minion" with regards to monsters. CM doesn't target ownership at all, it only mentions another player's play because that details the trigger to use the special. So a player could use CM on a monster that a Taunter brought out, because CM is not concerned with player ownership at all, just that a player played a minion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Graham
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
The text reads:
[url=http://smashup.wikia.com/wiki/Geeks#Control_Minion wrote:
Control Minion - Smash Up Wiki[/url]"]Choose a minion. You control that minion until the end of the turn. Special: Play when another player plays a minion. You gain control of that minion until the end of the turn.
gariDowes wrote:
CM doesn't target ownership at all, it only mentions another player's play because that details the trigger to use the special.
This is only partly correct. It doesn't target ownership is correct. It does trigger when you play something, but it does specifically say to gain control of "...that minion until the end of the turn."
gariDowes wrote:
So a player could use CM on a monster that a Taunter brought out, because CM is not concerned with player ownership at all, just that a player played a minion.
This, I agree with. If someone plays Taunter and chooses to play a monster, you could steal the monster for the duration of their turn. The only situations that you can use Control Minion on a monster is when played from the effect of another player's card. Even though the current player is placing monsters during the base replacement portion of play, they are not "playing" them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls