- Mike SmithUnited Kingdom
Here are some assorted variants to choose from for the base game and the Tactics and Politics expansions. I have not tried Templars, Teutonics, or Crusades yet (so the rule for Inquisitor does not take account of Archbishops - they would be above Bishops but below Cardinals).
Disasters - to mitigate them in the early game.
Battles - the move to battle dice with no blank side means that battles will rarely stall. This compensates for that a little.
Diplomacy - I like the rationing of Diplomacy but its too extreme.
Knights - adds a bit of colour and troop differentiation and makes sieges a little more likely (Secret Passage being a big fortification killer).
Archers - Crecy, Poitiers or Agincourt anybody?
Bombards - adds troop differentiation.
Attendants - original rules unclear and unequal. These rules replace the original powers (though some are unchanged).
At the start of the game make a pool of ten VP markers (use any suitable token for these - you will need more if you use the Templars, Teutonics or Crusades expansions). Place some of these VP markers on Disaster Card space 2 of the Track. Place some of these VP markers on Disaster Card space 3 of the Track. Place the remaining VP markers alongside the board. When a player earns a VP he takes a marker. Take them from space 2 as long as there are any on space 2. Take them from space 3 only when there are none on space 2. Take them from the pool off-board only when there are none on space 3. If a player loses a VP place the marker in the off-board pool.
3 players: 1 on space 2; 2 on space 3.
4 players: 2 on space 2; 2 on space 3.
5 players: 2 on space 2; 3 on space 3.
6 players: 3 on space 2; 3 on space 3.
All Disaster cards drawn on the 1st round are discarded without being resolved.
The number of Disaster cards resolved on all subsequent rounds depends on the VP markers on the Disaster Card Track. Only place a Disaster card on the Track if there is an empty space for it on the Track that contains no VP markers.
A battle ends after 2 battle rolls in a row with no losses.
A Knight counts only 2 SP when attacking or defending a Stronghold or Fortified City (but it still takes 3 hits to kill one).
At the beginning of Phase 1 if you are first player you get 1 of your used Diplomacy markers back (you can never have more than 3).
Each Knight takes 2 hits to kill by Archer, not 3.
These are effective only when defending or attacking a Stronghold or Fortified City.
All Attendants that are not allocated to a player at the start of the game are placed next to the map as a pool of uncontrolled Attendants. At the beginning of Phase 1, if you are first player, you may exchange your current Attendant for one of the uncontrolled ones (provided you have not already used its power this round). If you have no Attendant then you may not do this.
During Diplomacy you may receive another player’s Attendant in exchange for yours (both players would have to use a Diplomacy marker). No player can have more than one Attendant, and an Attendant whose power has already been used this round cannot be exchanged. A player who currently has no Attendant may receive one by Diplomacy.
Ancelin: the Strategist
At the beginning of Phase 5. Movement you may declare that you will move your Lords and Troops either first or last. If no declaration is made then you move in your normal position in player order.
Arsène: the Thief
You may steal 1 Denier from one other player in Phase 7. Victory Conditions.
Once per game, at any time (like an Opportunity card), you may attempt to steal a larger amount from one other player. The target player conceals all his Deniers in two hands, in any chosen combination, and he may choose to put none in one of the hands. You then choose one of those hands and takes all the Deniers in it. Whatever the result the Thief is then permanently discarded from the game.
Esmeralda: the Bohemian
During Phase 2. Draw and Play Cards you may discard one of the new Lord or Fortune cards that you draw. You may then draw again to replace it from the same pile. Instead of discarding a Lord or Fortune card you may discard unseen one facedown Disaster card that you have just drawn that will otherwise go on the track.
Gautier: the Toll Collector
During Phase 3. Income you may collect 1 Denier from the bank for each Bridge on the map that is next to at least one Village that you control.
Ivo: the Inquisitor
Provided you have in your family a Lord with an Ecclesiastical title then you may kill a Lord you hold captive at any time. However, if the target Lord or another member of their family has a higher ranking Ecclesiastical title then the owning player may prevent this. Ecclesiastical titles are ranked in the following order, lowest to highest: Bishop; Cardinal; Pope.
Jaufré: the Minstrel
In all elections you may choose a player who has at least 1 vote and who also has a female Lord in his family, and you then control that vote during that election instead of its normal owner. For the purposes of electing a King the vote that is borrowed must be the lowest ranking one that the target player controls (in the following order: Fief; Bishop; Cardinal; Pope).
Mathilde: the Spy
Once per round, at any time (like an Opportunity card), you may look at one other player’s hand of cards. The target player may not use any Opportunity cards before you look once you have declared that they are the target.
Once per game you may take one of the cards that you spy on. The Spy is then permanently discarded from the game.
- [+] Dice rolls
- I AM Not A Number(iamnan)France
You could also have a look at my FAQ where I collected quite a number of variants (text is in french) : https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/113156/my-personal-faq-fr...
I'll integrate yours one day ...
- [+] Dice rolls