Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

The U.S. Civil War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Red Numeral CRT results rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mick Mickelsen
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Guitar playerMicrobadge: Copper ReviewerMicrobadge: GrognardMicrobadge: LawyerMicrobadge: Level 04 BGG poster
I'm probably missing something obvious but what is the significance of the numbers in red on the CRT table?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Haggett
United States
Riverside
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Demoralization results, win or lose
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henrik Reschreiter
United Kingdom
Poole
Dorset
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
means 'heavy losses', and yes, a DM for you no matter if you won or lost
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mick Mickelsen
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Guitar playerMicrobadge: Copper ReviewerMicrobadge: GrognardMicrobadge: LawyerMicrobadge: Level 04 BGG poster
Ok thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Oberly
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But if the battle is a tie, neither is demoralized, yes? (pending full supply status)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Snyder
United States
Cockeysville
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Regardless of battle results. Your forces took so many losses it's demoralizing to the army. I can't reference the rule from work, but I recall it happens even if you win or draw.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Snyder
United States
Cockeysville
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
12.3- ANY time a force on either attack or defense suffers heavy losses, it becomes DM.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Oberly
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Scott, but I was referecing rule 12.2:

Any time a force loses a battle, suffers Heavy Losses
(12.3), or is Tied in a battle without Full Supply (13.1)
it becomes Demoralized and must be marked with a
Demoralized marker. A Demoralized force suffers the
following penalties:


Rule 12.3, Heavy Losses reads as:

Any time the attacker or defender loses 3 or more SPs in a battle it
becomes Demoralized (even if it wins the battle). Ignore this effect
if the stack is already Demoralized or will be Demoralized from the
battle—Heavy Losses never causes an additional step loss.


So I read it as you have to take 3 or more SP losses to get the DM from that rule. The way I read 12.2, if you are in full supply after a tied battle (unless you take 3 or more SP losses), you don't get DM.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Koens
United States
Watsonville
California
flag msg tools
badge
marks the spot.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
The way I read 12.2, if you are in full supply after a tied battle (unless you take 3 or more SP losses), you don't get DM.
And that's the big deal about limited supply. You can keep up an offensive while in limited supply as long as you don't even tie a battle or you become DM. And demoralization pretty severely limits your attacking potential with that -2 DRM, and also makes you vulnerable to additional losses.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Oberly
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perhaps I am being obtuse, but can anyone give a rules reference for the red line on the CRT? I have looked for quite a while, and have had no luck. I can't find anything on the chart itself, either. The only reference I see to Heavy Losses is rule 12.3, which defines it as losing 3 or more SP in a battle.

Edit: The red line always begins after the max unmodified die/ dice rolls for each sized attack. It may not mean anything other than that indication. I have found nothing in the rules discussing it, anyway.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Snyder
United States
Cockeysville
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MikeOberly wrote:
Thanks Scott, but I was referecing rule 12.2:

Any time a force loses a battle, suffers Heavy Losses
(12.3), or is Tied in a battle without Full Supply (13.1)
it becomes Demoralized and must be marked with a
Demoralized marker. A Demoralized force suffers the
following penalties:


Rule 12.3, Heavy Losses reads as:

Any time the attacker or defender loses 3 or more SPs in a battle it
becomes Demoralized (even if it wins the battle). Ignore this effect
if the stack is already Demoralized or will be Demoralized from the
battle—Heavy Losses never causes an additional step loss.


So I read it as you have to take 3 or more SP losses to get the DM from that rule. The way I read 12.2, if you are in full supply after a tied battle (unless you take 3 or more SP losses), you don't get DM.
Ah! Mea culpa!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls