Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Prepare Travel Action Clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Wray
United States
Unspecified
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"If the investigator is on a City space, he gains one travel ticket
of his choice. The investigator cannot gain a Train Ticket unless
there is at least one Train path connected to his space. Likewise,
he cannot gain a Ship Ticket unless there is at least one Ship
path connected to his space.
If a player ever has more than two travel tickets, he must choose
two to keep and discard the rest."

1. Can a player Prepare Travel anywhere else on the board that is NOT a city as long as there is a train or ship path connected to his space? The city gives the advantage of buying either type regardless of the path connected. Is this correct?

2. Can a player have two ship tickets or two train tickets or 1 train and 1 ship? For some reason, we have been playing you can have a maximum of two tickets as long it is 1 train and 1 ship. However, the rules don't mention specific type. So I believe in our next game, investigators have up to two tickets of any type. Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JackhammerJohn wrote:
"If the investigator is on a City space, he gains one travel ticket
of his choice. The investigator cannot gain a Train Ticket unless
there is at least one Train path connected to his space. Likewise,
he cannot gain a Ship Ticket unless there is at least one Ship
path connected to his space.
If a player ever has more than two travel tickets, he must choose
two to keep and discard the rest."

1. Can a player Prepare Travel anywhere else on the board that is NOT a city as long as there is a train or ship path connected to his space? The city gives the advantage of buying either type regardless of the path connected. Is this correct?


You can only prepare to travel if you are in a city space as noted on the back page of the Reference guide. The restrictions quoted apply to cities.

Quote:
2. Can a player have two ship tickets or two train tickets or 1 train and 1 ship? For some reason, we have been playing you can have a maximum of two tickets as long it is 1 train and 1 ship. However, the rules don't mention specific type. So I believe in our next game, investigators have up to two tickets of any type. Is this correct?


You can have any combination of tickets.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Oppedisano
United States
Eau Claire
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. No. The rules are explicit that you can only take the prepare to travel action on a city space.

2. You can have 2 tickets of any combination (1 of each, two of the same). If you would gain a 3rd ticket you have to discard one of the tickets. This would allow you to gain a ticket you might need (i.e. if you have 2 boats but need a train ticket to get where you're going).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
In non-city spaces Rest and Focus are pretty much your only filler activities, no tickets.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Wray
United States
Unspecified
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Got it! Many thanks for the replies! Just in time for our game today!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
david harris
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
You have read the rules? If not it may be a good idea to do so.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.