Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about "Power of Tom Bombadil" Card Use rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew
United States
flag msg tools
mb
Hello,

I came across an interesting game situation recently and did not know how to address it:

The Shadow Player mustered Isengard & Saruman very quickly and used two advantageous cards: "A New Power Rising" & "Rage of the Dunlendings." The Free People's hadn't yet activated or advanced the North or Dwarves along the political track, so the Shadow Player saw an early opportunity to strike northward.

SP used the latter card to muster in Cardolan and used a few subsequent dice to muster/move such that a 10-stack army was sitting there. A move & attack later, the Shire had fallen. The SP then simultaneously moved toward Bree and Ered Luin to try to ensure that the FP would have no nations but the elves mustering in the northern theater.

BUT...the FP had the Tom Bombadil card. Given that the Shire was already controlled by the Shadow & he had units in Buckland -- one of the regions listed as a no-go zone for Shadow units -- would he still be able to play this card? Or would the Shadow units already in Buckland be able to stay with an understanding that if they left they would not be able to re-enter/attack into Buckland/Shire/Old Forest unless the card was removed from play?

In context, this was important because the FP player shortly thereafter advanced the Elves to war & used Cirdan's Ships to muster two elven elite units in Gray Havens and had a chance to push the Shadow player back toward the Shire. With Tom Bombadil in play, the Shadow would not be able to retreat there, and the FP player could waltz in to take it back with perhaps just one regular Elven unit.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Van Deusen
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Given the plain language on the card, I'd say the Shadow wouldn't be forced to leave those territories but wouldn't be able to attack or re-enter them if the army moved out.

It is an interesting case.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Madsen
United States
Kearns
Utah
flag msg tools
Trains!
badge
Houseplant?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, The Power of Tom Bombadil was playable. The Shadow army in Buckland is able to stay put, but if it moves, it is constrained by the card. The Shire remains controlled by the Shadow, but is easily liberated.

In this situation it could very much be in the interest of the Shadow to force the discard of The Power of Tom Bombadil.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew
United States
flag msg tools
mb
Thanks for the interpretation, guys. It was an definitely an unusual situation.

Thematically, it made me think Tom Bombadil is one twisted guy if he'd let the Shire & Buckland get ravaged only to rouse himself to protect it once the Dunlendings and the Uruk-Hai had burned it down! (But, hey, maybe he was deep in the Old Forest and missed the whole thing...)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John R
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Thomas JeffersonMicrobadge: US ConstitutionMicrobadge: Hnefatafl fanMicrobadge: Tolkien fanMicrobadge: Sons of Anarchy fan
Check the residue in Tom's pipe...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls