Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Memoir '44» Forums » Rules

Subject: Who takes a turn after using the 'ambush' card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeong Wook Seo

South Korea
msg tools
Hellow~ one question.

Who takes a turn after using the 'ambush' card, the person using that card takes a turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gamov
Singapore
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

in a 2-player game, the player that played the ambush card but the current player finishes his turn but draw a card directly to replace the ambush card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Roberts
Australia
Noble Park
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
coldjungwook wrote:
Hellow~ one question.

Who takes a turn after using the 'ambush' card, the person using that card takes a turn?


let's say

Player A has ordered 3 units, has moved them all and then proceeds to battle, declaring a close assault with the first of the three units. Player B interrupts by playing the Ambush card and Player B then rolls a normal attack against the unit Player A was about to battle with. There are three possible outcomes:

1) Player B's ambush attack eliminates Player A's attacking unit, claiming the last figure as a victory medal.
2) Player B's ambush attack includes one (or more) flags and Player A's unit is forced to retreat one or more spaces.
3) Player B's ambush attack doesn't achieve 1) or 2)

In cases 1) and 2) Player A may no longer battle with the first unit, but may battle with other unit(s) to complete their turn.

After Player A has finished battling with their remaining units, it is then Player B's turn as normal.

If you care about 'correct' procedure, then Player B draws their replacement card (replacing the ambush card) immediately after the ambush is resolved, while Player A waits till the end of their turn to draw their replacement card.


You immediately resolve the ambush (interrupting the current player's turn). If the attack dice from the ambush card eliminates the attacking unit or cause it to retreat then that unit may not battle, but the active player
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeong Wook Seo

South Korea
msg tools
Thank you for answering. But one more question.

Why player B have to draw his replacement card immediately after the ambush is resolved? On the Ambush card says only that "At the end of the turn, draw your Command card first"
It means after player A finishes all the battling then player B first draw the card and after player A draw the card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Roberts
Australia
Noble Park
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that's right. It doesn't really matter when the cards are drawn, but The player of the ambush card should take their card first.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cpl Uhl
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It does matter when the card is drawn. When you do this before the other battles are resolved you can anticipate on the card you draw (where to retreat).

Althou it is a minor difference, there is a difference
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Roberts
Australia
Noble Park
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you're right. It can make a difference occasionally. We draw the new card straight away because its also easy to forget to draw it at the end of the turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Roberts
Australia
Noble Park
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Cpl_Uhl wrote:
It does matter when the card is drawn. When you do this before the other battles are resolved you can anticipate on the card you draw (where to retreat).

Althou it is a minor difference, there is a difference


Just played a game online and when the AI played an ambush, it received its card before I finished battling Witt he remainder of my troops.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Minot
North Dakota
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We have the player playing the ambush card draw it immediately (so as not to forget), but keep it face down till the end of the other player's combats.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.