Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Realms» Forums » Rules

Subject: When scrapping a card, can you use the ability too? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bart Descamps
Belgium
Bavikhove
West-Vlaanderen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you draw 5 cards at the beginning of your turn, you have a ship that allows you to scrap a card in your hand or discardpile, you have a viper and three scouts... So you have three money points, can you scrap a scout (1 moneypoint) and buy another card in the trade row for three points or only for two points?
I think three points as I thought that you may use all the powers of the cards and scrapping afterwards? Or can you use only two points?
Thanks for the answers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reed Dawley
United States
Delmar
New York
flag msg tools
Playing more games is better!
badge
Collecting games is not playing games!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you scrap something from your hand, you cannot use its power. It was never played so the power was never used.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Heisey
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can scrap a card from your hand or discard pile. Let's look at these in inverse order.

(a) discard pile - played on a previous turn. Obviously doesn't help you.
(b) in your hand - you haven't played it yet. Does you no good.

So no. If you played it, you can't scrap it. I'd like to, but you can't. Sorry.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
These limitations are correct when using a card that lets you scrap other cards - as stated, this can be only cards in your hand (unused) or discard pile (used in a different turn or discarded without playing).

But if a card itself has a scrap ability, you can scrap it (and use that ability) after you have used its other abilities in the same turn.

In fact, the primary ability of a ship always takes effect when you play a ship. Use of a ship's scrap ability can occur only after its primary ability takes effect (and, if you like, after any secondary abilities).
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bart Descamps
Belgium
Bavikhove
West-Vlaanderen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, thanks for the answers.

But if you play an Explorer, you can use the moneypoints (2) and scrap it afterwards for giving damage to the other player? Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United Kingdom
Southampton
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that's what Gillum is saying above. If you play an Explorer you get +2 trade and have the option of scrapping it for +2 combat. It's similar with any other card with the scrap icon (trash can / rubbish bin).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reed Dawley
United States
Delmar
New York
flag msg tools
Playing more games is better!
badge
Collecting games is not playing games!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
that is correct, if there is a scrap icon on a card, you play it and get the benefit, then you can scrap it for that extra scrap benefit if you choose.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bart Descamps
Belgium
Bavikhove
West-Vlaanderen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for all the answers!
Keep playing !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls