Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

A Game of Thrones: The Card Game (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: "STR by which" question - Answered rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
S S
Belarus
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Probably it would be more language-dependent than rules-dependent question, but anyway: a lot of cards' abilities (e.g. "Put to the Sword" event), as well as "Intimidate" challenge resolution keyword, have the following text: "the amount of STR by which the challenge was won."
Does it mean:
(1) The total sum of STR of all winner's participated characters and modifiers in the corresponding challenge?
or
(2)The net difference between winner's total STR sum and loser's total STR sum?

I apologize if the answer is obvious, especially for native speakers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Just call him
United Kingdom
Halifax
West Yorkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "STR by which" question
The correct answer is (2)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lytic Phage
msg tools
Re: "STR by which" question
Linguistically, the defining word is

"by" (by which) rather than "with" (with which), which distinguishes between the two possibilities you suggest.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S S
Belarus
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "STR by which" question
Paul, Lytic, thank you for your answers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls