Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Saboteur» Forums » General

Subject: Help Wanted After First Game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Staden
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Played Sabouteur (four players) for the first time last night anda few questions arose:
1) If the cave In card is played and takes a card out of a route from the ladder, must that space be filled before victory can be claimed by the diggers? Id so, must it be filled before revealing a goal card?
2) Can a player place a repaired tool card in front of himself when he doesn't have a broken tool there... i.e. advanced repairing?
3. One of our rounds consisted of most players with broken tools spending most of the game discarding cards trying to find repairs... Is that a rarity? No other way round it?
Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
Microbadge: Challenge to play 10 games 10 times each hardcore participantMicrobadge: Star Wars: Imperial Assault fan Microbadge: Fringe fanMicrobadge: Gloomhaven fanMicrobadge: Gloomhaven fan
1) You can only place a card if there is a route from the entrance. So if the cave in disrupted the route, it has to be fixed first.

2) Repairs are use-once card. They are discarded after use, so if you use one without anything to repair they do nothing but are still discarded. You do not save the effect for later.

3) That happens sometimes. Good traitor gnomes you had there.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
a1bert wrote:
1) You can only place a card if there is a route from the entrance. So if the cave in disrupted the route, it has to be fixed first.
Rules reference? I can't see anything supporting this in the rules I have, although perhaps I've missed something...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MercifulBiscuit wrote:
a1bert wrote:
1) You can only place a card if there is a route from the entrance. So if the cave in disrupted the route, it has to be fixed first.
Rules reference? I can't see anything supporting this in the rules I have, although perhaps I've missed something...
Yes, you must always place a card so that the route leads back to the entrance.

Re: (still further) clarification on tunnel placement
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Huh. That changes the game significantly. It's not mentioned in the rules, so I've always played that paths can be extended beyond the cave in - but that if the cave in isn't resolved before the game ends, the miners lose.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
Microbadge: Challenge to play 10 games 10 times each hardcore participantMicrobadge: Star Wars: Imperial Assault fan Microbadge: Fringe fanMicrobadge: Gloomhaven fanMicrobadge: Gloomhaven fan
Well, strange. You are right. The rules downloadable from Z-Man do not have this rule.

There must be more than one version of the rules, because I certainly remember knowing the rule from the beginning. The version we have played is the Saboteur+ version, which includes the expansion.

It is mentioned here:
http://www.orderofgamers.com/downloads/Saboteur_v1.1.pdf
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frederic Moyersoen
Belgium
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's more logical that you must repair the connection to the start card before continuing to dig behind a cave-in.
This rule was so "evident" for me that it was forgotten in the first print runs. Meanwhile, I've asked to publisher to add a clarification in subsequent print runs.
However, as there are 30 different language versions, I'm not able to control them all.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Greig
Australia
Kelso
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re Number 3,

in saboteur 2 (the expansion), it has a rule that allows a dwarf to discard two cards and only draw one to fix any broken tool (but hence you now have a smaller hand size), although there is less cards total without the expansion we still use this rule when teaching new players and not playing with the expansion, it tends to give more choice to players so you don't spend the whole game doing nothing
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls