Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Puram
United States
Wilsonville
OR
flag msg tools
Let's meet up for games and coffee!
badge
Golden... As in Oldie! I'm relatively new to the Portland area and looking for gamers to game with and new gaming groups to join! I'm 50+ and like most games but do have a special affinity for dry, cube pushing euros!
Microbadge: What's Your Game fanMicrobadge: Winsome Games fanMicrobadge: Wooden cube fanMicrobadge: Economic Games fanMicrobadge: I love dry, soulless Euros!!!
There are a couple of economic games I've played that have Mergers and Acquisitions featured as a primary mechanic. I really enjoyed this aspect in these games and am looking for more games like these. Would definitely appreciate your suggestions given my thoughts on these games.

Acquire - A classic game that many have played, although I just played my first couple of games recently. I REALLY love the way you can set yourself up to profit both by being acquired and acquiring other companies. The luck of the tile draws was a bit too much for me though so that took away from my overall enjoyment of the game. Maybe just a touch too simple, luck based and abstract for me to really love the game, but I like it a lot.

Indonesia - This was a really good experience and a great game but ultimately just a bit too long and fiddly for me to get to the table on my normal game nights. Something a bit shorter and maybe a notch lighter would be perfect as I really liked this game overall.

I have looked at Stephensons Rocket but really haven't got a firm grasp on how that one plays. I do think I could like mergers with or without the stock ownership component and would love to find out about other games that use this.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Ostrander
United States
PRINCETON
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
a game that is very similar to aquire but with a airplane theme is "Airlines Europe", though it isn't really about mergers and aquisitions.