Chris McDonald
United States
Louisville
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Microbadge: Heroes of Normandie fanMicrobadge: History buffMicrobadge: Willie hears ya'. Willie don't care.Microbadge: Alexandre Dumas fanMicrobadge: ASL fan
If an AI is selected for a Low Risk Move Towards a target, but

a)any move closer to the target will put it at short range of a unit
b)no move at the same distance will increase its cover, put it on the flank of a unit, or get it out of a fire zone
d)no pivot will reduce the number of units flanking it

Will it
a) be considered ineligible for this order (moving down the the next order if there are no other eligible units)
a) move sideways in the hopes of the ability to eventually move towards the target by going the long way around
c) take this order and just pass the AI turn
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Palmer
Canada
Ayr
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: 2019 Secret Santa participantMicrobadge: Parent of One BoyMicrobadge: ChristianMicrobadge: Fair Trade supporterMicrobadge: Spirit Island fan
If b) actually does shorten the path that the unit could take to get to the objective, then do that. If it doesn't, or there's only a chance that it could, then you should be skipping to the next order.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris McDonald
United States
Louisville
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Microbadge: Heroes of Normandie fanMicrobadge: History buffMicrobadge: Willie hears ya'. Willie don't care.Microbadge: Alexandre Dumas fanMicrobadge: ASL fan
Thanks!


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
cfmcdonald wrote:
If an AI is selected for a Low Risk Move Towards a target, but

a)any move closer to the target will put it at short range of a unit
b)no move at the same distance will increase its cover, put it on the flank of a unit, or get it out of a fire zone
d)no pivot will reduce the number of units flanking it

Will it
a) be considered ineligible for this order (moving down the the next order if there are no other eligible units)
a) move sideways in the hopes of the ability to eventually move towards the target by going the long way around
c) take this order and just pass the AI turn
In section 5.3, the rules for Towards say the AI may sometimes move into a hex that is the same distance from a Unit. If a Unit can not Low Risk Move into a Hex that is closer, it will move into a hex that is the same distance but closer to an enemies flank if it can. If it can't and cannot change its position to a better one in any way, then it will stay put and you move onto the next order. I want to make this clearer in an updated version of the rules that we will be putting on our website in the future.
Gunter
Academy Games.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls