Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Triumph & Tragedy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreat and ReBase mutually exclusive? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
Microbadge: I play both wargames and eurosMicrobadge: Sierra Madre Games fanMicrobadge: Fan of Formula 1 RacingMicrobadge: Riichi Mahjong fanMicrobadge: 2019 Gold Supporter
Do the restrictions on retreats in 12.5 also apply to Retreat by ReBasing? Or are you literally ReBasing instead of retreating, and the terms are mutually exclusive?

e.g. can you rebase to an area that had a battle this turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Besinque
Canada
New Denver
BC
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Chris,

Yes, Retreat restrictions do still apply when ReBasing to Retreat.

Retreat restrictions do not apply to ReBasings that are not Retreats.

Note: since ReBasing can be more than 1 area, the "movement-through" abilities of AFs and Subs come into play in ReBasings. They can Disengage through an Enemy-occupied area into a valid ReBasing destination (undisputed Home Territory).

Craig

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
Microbadge: I play both wargames and eurosMicrobadge: Sierra Madre Games fanMicrobadge: Fan of Formula 1 RacingMicrobadge: Riichi Mahjong fanMicrobadge: 2019 Gold Supporter
Makes sense. A bit ambiguous, in my opinion, but intuitive enough.

Your additional note is clear in the rules under 13.0 ReBasing and thanks for the reminder.

I also believe you meant undisputed friendly territory, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Evans
United States
Richmond
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, "friendly territory" is correct
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls