Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Operation count modifiers and maximums rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Ronke
United States
Cary
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have multiple modifiers on the operation value of a card, and each specifies maximums and minimums, what's the order-of-operations for applying those mods?

Is it all mods first, then apply max/min?

Modifier A played first = +1, max 4
Modifier B played second = -1, min 1

Version 1:
Card X that has 4 normally.
Modifiers A and B applied, 4 + 1 - 1 = 4.
Card X still has 4, within mins and maxes.

Or, does each maximum and minimum get applied alongside its modifier, with each applied in the order the modifier became present?

Version 2:
Card X has 4 normally.
Modifier A applied, 4 + 1 = 5.
Maximum A is 4, so card X is set to 4.
Modifier B applied 4 - 1 = 3.
Minimum B is 1, so card X is 3 ops.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
Microbadge: The Beatles fanMicrobadge: Bruce Springsteen fanMicrobadge: Elvis Costello fanMicrobadge: Johnny Cash fanMicrobadge: Creedence Clearwater Revival fan
Version 1. E.g. Purge and Brezhnev Doctrine would perfectly cancel one another.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Woods
Canada
Victoria
BC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The way I play is you combine all modifiers and if there is anything left at the end, then you apply it to the op value.

In this case, your modifiers add up to zero, so this won't affect the op value at all.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Barnhart
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Covered by 7.4.

7.4 Some event cards modify the Operations value of cards that
follow. These modifiers should be applied in aggregate, and can
modify ‘The China Card’.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Ronke
United States
Cary
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
positivelyrob wrote:
Covered by 7.4.

7.4 Some event cards modify the Operations value of cards that
follow. These modifiers should be applied in aggregate, and can
modify ‘The China Card’.
Ah, so here's a question. Does the China Card's modifier for ops in Asia happen after all other modifiers?

I mean, it wouldn't make a ton of sense otherwise.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
james newman
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kingalces wrote:
positivelyrob wrote:
Covered by 7.4.

7.4 Some event cards modify the Operations value of cards that
follow. These modifiers should be applied in aggregate, and can
modify ‘The China Card’.
Ah, so here's a question. Does the China Card's modifier for ops in Asia happen after all other modifiers?

I mean, it wouldn't make a ton of sense otherwise.
China card under Red Scare would be 3 ops or 4 in Asia. 4 - 1 (+1 in Asia). If China card were played under Breshnev or Containment, it would be 4 (max value of modifiers) or 5 in Asia.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Ronke
United States
Cary
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
donut2099 wrote:

China card under Red Scare would be 3 ops or 4 in Asia. 4 - 1 (+1 in Asia). If China card were played under Breshnev or Containment, it would be 4 (max value of modifiers) or 5 in Asia.
Let me see if this ruleset encompasses everything:

1) Sort all modifiers between those with max/min values and those without.
2) Add all modifiers in the "with" group to the base Ops value of the card.
3) Apply any maximums or minimums from the "with" group.
4) Add all modifiers in the "without" group.

This would seem to cover both the China Card and Vietnam Revolts. What other no-maximum Ops cards might I be forgetting?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls