Bryan Patrick
msg tools
I have a bachelor's in Professional Writing, and I've been doing communications/speech writing in politics for the past three years. Before that I worked as a copy editor and marketing assistant at a brewery.

I would be interested in writing for Board Games. By that, I mean editing/organizing rule books, helping with content, etc... I'm not trying to make a living off of this, but I'd like to garner some experience in this field. With no experience I'm not expecting much.

To those who have done editing/writing for games, how did you find a way to break in? I'm worried that this is another area where (excuse this if it comes off wrong) everyone thinks they can be a writer and it waters down the actual work it takes.

I'm just trying to find a way in right now. Any thoughts or experience would be great. Thanks.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mb
Welcome too BGG! "and then?..." shake Don't: quit your Day Job; nor even any "night-time" 'stand-up comedy routine'! In your spare time, THEN find anything or whichever made you 'passionate' about theirs. What interested YOU is what mattered the 'mostest', and being 'firstest' regarding SUCH!
whistle
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate Bivins

Charlotte
North Carolina
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
My advice for a possible newcomer to boardgame rulebook writing is to be very familiar with existing rulebooks. This will provide plenty of examples of good examples and what to avoid.

The most difficult part of writing a rulebook for someone else is that you really need to know how the game works to be able to write the rulebook. You need to know the exceptions, how to write examples, etc. in order to write well in this hobby.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Proper-Lee
United States
Levittown
NY
flag msg tools