- Bruce LinseyUnited States
Fortresses are an optional rule in the Avalon Hill edition of the game. The rule reads: "A fortress may be built at a cost of two Strength Points by flipping a fort to its reverse side. A fortress adds one to the defender's die rolls and wins all ties. Otherwise, it is the same as a fort."
So I have a fort, and I want to turn it into a fortress, Do I pay 1 or 2 more strength points (having already paid 1 for the fort), and do I now add 1 or 2 to my die rolls (it was already 1 when it was just a fort) when defending? It's not clear whether the cost and strength figures are cumulative. I would tend to go with the lower cost (1 more Strength Point) but the higher defensive strength (2 total, plus ties) to make it worthwhile, but what's correct?
- [+] Dice rolls