Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Fury of Dracula (Third/Fourth Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Heroic leap rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rafael Maia
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can this card be played in combat against Dracula, or just vampire minions?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Claudio Hornblower
Italy
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good question. The card refers to "vampire", so Drac is a vampire too and so far we've played that it works for both (Drac and vampire encounters).

The original text in the 2nd ed card was: "Play this just before you begin a combat with Dracula. The combat does not take place. Instead, both you and Dracula roll a die, each of you losing Health/Blood equal to the number you rolled"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Can Bud
Turkey
Istanbul
flag msg tools
mb
There does not seem to be any reason why it cannot be played against Dracula. Can you quote the card text, i am at work now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
We apologise for the inconvenience
United Kingdom
Outside of the Asylum
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it applies to either a vampire encounter or Dracula himself.
It's covered in the Rules Reference...
Rules Reference, pg 5 wrote:
Damage
...
+ Some item, combat, and event cards instruct a “vampire” to
suffer damage. If Dracula is in a combat, “vampire” refers to
Dracula. If a vampire from an encounter card is in a combat,
“vampire” refers to that vampire.
And for completeness, here's the card text...
HEROIC LEAP (Hunter Event Card) wrote:
Play at the start of combat
before you choose a card.


Instead of resolving combat,
the vampire suffers 5 damage.
Then you suffer 5 damage.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafael Maia
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you so much for the answers! Sorry for the quick post and for not quoting the card, I posted during the game we were playing and literally in the middle of the last combat, trying to figure out if that card would seal the deal or not, haha. We searched the rulebook to figure out if Dracula counts as a vampire (sure sounds odd when I put it that way) or if the game specifically distinguished those effects, but didn't look under the damage section. Much appreciated!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls