Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Battle Masters» Forums » Rules

Subject: A question about ditches. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Billy Bob
United States
Beachwood
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mb
I know archers and crossbow men attack at regular value, but if fighting over a fortified side does the defender still gain a die?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dante Lepore
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
mb
The rules don't specify but I say yes because you are still defending against an attack across a ditch. You always roll one extra combat die when you are defending yourself against an attack across a ditch.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Bowman
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Oh! Interesting question!

On the one hand, archers don't care if there's a ditch or not; they're not really aiming they're arrows at specific people; they're just firing a volley into the crowd. So an individual archer's ability to hit doesn't really care whether you're on the other side of a ditch.

On the other hand, the probability of being hit by an arrow in a volley is lessened by stuff being in the way.

So I'd say yes: defending across a ditch or fortification grants a defense bonus, whether defending against ranged or hand-to-hand attacks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls