Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Nations: Dynasties» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another rules questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fabrice Essner
France
Nissa
FR
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 - Some cards talk about return a worker (Qin dynasty / Vesuvius for example). Does it means I can return an undeployement worker, and / or destroy a building for put him back in the population track ?

2 - If Q1 is yes, can I return my worker where I wish ? (Food or Stability)

3 - Roman Republic : "Discard 1 architect for have +1 stability during the turn". From where I take the architect ? From the available ones or from one of my wonder under construction ?

4 - Mali Empire : "Remove an architect...". Same then Roman Republic. From where ?

5 - Kingdom of Leon : When I buy a war, I won rewards looking my raid level as if I had bought a battle ?

6 - Muryan Empire : Can I take just one extra worker even if I have some others available ? In the rules, it seems it's possible only if none are available, but that's not clear.

7 - Domains of the sea : "Buy Colony : Discard it". Discard the Colony or the Dynasty card ?

8 - Great Library : "Lost if least". Anytime during the turn, or just on the resolution phase ?

9 - Victoria Falls : What are we doing with the new colonies after ? Discard or let them in the card rows ?

10 - Yellow cards : Some talk about bonus all the round. So now, this yellow cards are just discard on the end of the round ?

Thx for helping.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafael Hannula
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
badge
Truthful speech, proper understanding, unselfish action
Avatar
mb
1 - yes
2 - yes
3 - wonder under construction
4 - same as 3
5 - yes
6 - It's possible if none are available
7 - The colony
8 - Any time
9 - They form "fourth row" (cost 4 money each)
10 - Yes
5 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabrice Essner
France
Nissa
FR
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thx for the answers, I had all good. But :

1 - About the colonies from "Victoria Falls", do you mean the 4 rows stay until the end of the game ? If the colonies are drawn from the Age IV, part 1, when we refill, the colonies simply stay on the 4th rows ?

2 - I guess the discard architect doesn't return to the pool available this turn but in the general supply ?

I'll try the extension on thursday. I want to be sure everything fine. whistle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias Friberg
Sweden
STOCKHOLM
Sverige
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
3 from the rules:
Rome – Roman Republic: Take an architect from those
available this round, discard it, and increase your Stability by
1 for this round.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafael Hannula
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
badge
Truthful speech, proper understanding, unselfish action
Avatar
mb
lordr wrote:
3 from the rules:
Rome – Roman Republic: Take an architect from those
available this round, discard it, and increase your Stability by
1 for this round.
My bad. With Rome it's "discard" effect.

With Mali it's the basic "remove" effect so the architect is taken from a wonder you are constructing.

About the Victoria Falls: the colonies get discarded after the round.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabrice Essner
France
Nissa
FR
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thx for the clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Hester
United States
Georgetown
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
MOO!
Avatar
Microbadge: Follower of JesusMicrobadge: Afghanistan Campaign MedalMicrobadge: Iraq Campaign MedalMicrobadge: Plays Games with SpouseMicrobadge: Parent of One Girl
rayffis wrote:
1 - yes
2 - yes
3 - wonder under construction
4 - same as 3
5 - yes
6 - It's possible if none are available
7 - The colony
8 - Any time
9 - They form "fourth row" (cost 4 money each)
10 - Yes
Can Vesuvius take you below your starting number of workers? If so, where do they go, and what does it cost you to bring them back in the growth stage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Hester
United States
Georgetown
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
MOO!
Avatar
Microbadge: Follower of JesusMicrobadge: Afghanistan Campaign MedalMicrobadge: Iraq Campaign MedalMicrobadge: Plays Games with SpouseMicrobadge: Parent of One Girl
Also in the solo game, do you roll the dice after taking a Turmoil card? Lots of holes in the Dynasties rulebook :-(
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Hester
United States
Georgetown
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
MOO!
Avatar
Microbadge: Follower of JesusMicrobadge: Afghanistan Campaign MedalMicrobadge: Iraq Campaign MedalMicrobadge: Plays Games with SpouseMicrobadge: Parent of One Girl
And in solo, does the shadow player roll after each free action Wardenclyffe Tower grants?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rustan Håkansson
Sweden
Norrköping
flag msg tools
designer
bgdev.club is really a site address, no www or .com needed :)
badge
Cities: Skylines board game designed by me!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Benjamin!

Have you checked the FAQ? I try to cover everything there, including the solo game.
Quote:

When returning a worker, put it back on your population track. You may place it on any of your empty spaces. [1.8]

Q: Can the shadow take Turmoil cards?
A: No, but it will roll when you do. [1.8]

ⅅ Vesuvius - You have to return a worker to the population track at the end of each age, it may be an undeployed worker. [2.0]

Wardenclyffe Tower: Yes, they are normal actions, so if the shadow would roll for them normally it will roll here.

Please ask if you have more questions!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Hester
United States
Georgetown
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
MOO!
Avatar
Microbadge: Follower of JesusMicrobadge: Afghanistan Campaign MedalMicrobadge: Iraq Campaign MedalMicrobadge: Plays Games with SpouseMicrobadge: Parent of One Girl
Thank you Rustan, I discovered the FAQ after posting this. It is very comprehensive, and answered most of my questions. Nations remains one of my favorite solo games. I'd like to think that perhaps if I understood the strategy a little bit better, it would be one of my favorite competitive games as well. Any useful links you can share on how to improve at the game?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rustan Håkansson
Sweden
Norrköping
flag msg tools
designer
bgdev.club is really a site address, no www or .com needed :)
badge
Cities: Skylines board game designed by me!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are some guides here in the forum, but mostly it is about playing the game and learning to see the opportunities, combinations, what you can risk and what you can ignore. Then comes the understanding how to really play against the other players

If you are unevenly matched I really recommend using different difficulty levels so new players can compete evenly with experienced players.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mario Abad
Spain
Barcelona
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I would also like to know the answer to this one
BenjaminHester wrote:
rayffis wrote:
1 - yes
2 - yes
3 - wonder under construction
4 - same as 3
5 - yes
6 - It's possible if none are available
7 - The colony
8 - Any time
9 - They form "fourth row" (cost 4 money each)
10 - Yes
Can Vesuvius take you below your starting number of workers? If so, where do they go, and what does it cost you to bring them back in the growth stage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rustan Håkansson
Sweden
Norrköping
flag msg tools
designer
bgdev.club is really a site address, no www or .com needed :)
badge
Cities: Skylines board game designed by me!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Volodioso wrote:
I would also like to know the answer to this one
BenjaminHester wrote:
rayffis wrote:
1 - yes
2 - yes
3 - wonder under construction
4 - same as 3
5 - yes
6 - It's possible if none are available
7 - The colony
8 - Any time
9 - They form "fourth row" (cost 4 money each)
10 - Yes
Can Vesuvius take you below your starting number of workers? If so, where do they go, and what does it cost you to bring them back in the growth stage?
I answered above, quoting the FAQ. Is something still unclear?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls