Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Fury of Dracula (Third/Fourth Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Combat with multiple vampires rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James K
United States
State College
PA
flag msg tools
mb
Played for the first time last night. I was wondering. If Dracula moves into a city and plays a vapire nest (forget card names but let's say the vampire with 4 health). Then a hunter moves into the city. What happens in combat? Do you face the vampire if you search? Then at dusk face dracula?

Also if you ambush with the vampire does it get discarded at the end even if the hunter doesn't defeat it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Stair
United States
Macon Area
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RomanLegion wrote:
Then a hunter moves into the city. What happens in combat? Do you face the vampire if you search? Then at dusk face dracula?
Yes, Yes,

RomanLegion wrote:
Also if you ambush with the vampire does it get discarded at the end even if the hunter doesn't defeat it?
NO

So you can Ambush with the Vampry once they move into the location. The AMBUSH take place Immediately.
or
You can wait for them to search. Which would take place Immediately.

If you Ambush with a Vampry and they are not killed you will NOT discard the encounter Per the Rules of Vampire Encounter.

AMBUSH: Dracula can ambush hunters to resolve effects on his encounter cards that are in hideouts or lairs.
After a hunter is moved to a hideout or lair, Dracula reveals the location card in that hideout or lair. Then, Dracula can then choose an encounter card in that hideout or lair to ambush with. He reveals the card and resolves the text on that encounter card, ignoring any mature effect.
† Dracula may ambush with an encounter card that is already revealed.
† If a game effect moves a hunter to a location that is a hideout or lair, Dracula can ambush that hunter.
† After resolving the encounter card’s effect, Dracula must discard that card unless it specifies otherwise.
† If there are two or more encounter cards in a hideout or lair, Dracula may ambush the same hunter multiple times (once for each card) in the order of his choice.


COMBAT: A hunter can participate in combat with either Dracula or Dracula’s vampires. If a hunter defeats Dracula in combat, the hunters win the game. If a hunter defeats a vampire in combat, that hunter can prevent Dracula from resolving the mature effect of vampires and advancing the influence track.
† If a hunter is on Dracula’s current location during dawn or dusk, he must start a combat with Dracula.
» If combat is at dusk or night, Dracula resolves the “at night” effects of his combat cards.
† If an encounter card instructs a hunter to “fight this vampire,” he starts a combat with that vampire.
† Combat with a vampire encounter can occur when either a hunter resolves a search action or Dracula ambushes a hunter.
» Combat with an “Aggressive Vampire” can only occur with one hunter while combat with a “New Vampire” can occur with multiple hunters in the same location if other hunters at that location become delayed.

Vampire Encounters
Combat with a vampire can be initiated from Dracula’s “New Vampire” and “Reckless Vampire” encounter cards. The rules in this section apply only to vampire encounters; when the word “Dracula” is used, it is referring to the Dracula player.

† If a hunter either resolves a search action or is ambushed in a hideout or lair and an encounter card is revealed that reads, “fight this vampire,” a combat occurs.
† Combat against vampires uses the same rules as combat against Dracula with the following exceptions:
» “New Vampire” and “Reckless Vampire” encounter cards have their own health values. When one of these vampires suffers damage, it is tracked on the card using damage tokens. If a vampire has a number of damage tokens on its card equal to or greater than its health value, that vampire is defeated.
» When a vampire is defeated, its encounter card is discarded. If combat ends without the vampire being defeated, the damage it suffered remains on the card.
† If Dracula plays “Escape as Mist” or “Escape as Bat” before he has played a number of combat cards greater than the number of despair tokens on the time track, the card is canceled.
» If Dracula resolves “Escape as Bat,” combat ends, but neither Dracula nor the vampire are moved from their current locations.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriel Cross
South Africa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When the hunter moves onto that city, Dracula reveals himself (placing his miniature on the city) and reveals the location card. If he chooses to ambush, he reveals the vampire encounter card and the vampire immediately has combat with the hunter which takes place during the day (I'm assuming the hunter moved during his or her day action). At the end of combat, if the vampire was not defeated the vampire encounter remains face up on the hideout and can be used to ambush any other hunters that move to that location. Otherwise it must be searched for by a hunter. If Dracula chose not to ambush, the encounter card stays face down. Combat with Dracula takes place at dusk after all the hunters have taken their day actions (so more of them might be able to move to that location).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Haskell
United States
Springfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dstair2002 wrote:


So you can Ambush with the Vampry once they move into the location. The AMBUSH take place the next Dawn or Dusk first then Dracula.


Incorrect. Ambushes are resolved immediately. Since Dracula can use an encounter to Ambush a hunter after they finish moving, ambushes will most often occur during Day. The advantage to Dracula is that he has the opportunity to attack the hunter before other hunters can join him. The trade off is that if he declines to ambush, the hunter must use an action to Search and then have the encounter at night when any vampires are stronger. Combat at Dawn or Dusk is strictly for Hunter vs Dracula.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Stair
United States
Macon Area
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've fixed it Larry Haskell.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Haskell
United States
Springfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dstair2002 wrote:
I've fixed it Larry Haskell.
Sorry if that sounded brusque. Typing on my phone leads to brevity. The rest of your explanation sounded spot on.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James C
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gamedog wrote:
dstair2002 wrote:


So you can Ambush with the Vampry once they move into the location. The AMBUSH take place the next Dawn or Dusk first then Dracula.


Incorrect. Ambushes are resolved immediately. Since Dracula can use an encounter to Ambush a hunter after they finish moving, ambushes will most often occur during Day. The advantage to Dracula is that he has the opportunity to attack the hunter before other hunters can join him. The trade off is that if he declines to ambush, the hunter must use an action to Search and then have the encounter at night when any vampires are stronger. Combat at Dawn or Dusk is strictly for Hunter vs Dracula.
I very much appreciated the strategic insight you provided here. Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Stone
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Aaah man, so the Hunters can gain up on Dracula, but Dracula can't bring in some of his "children of the night" to gang up on a hunter?! That sucks. (Or just to even the odds . . . )

OH well
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lean Heuch Hansen
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
During vampire encounters Dracula always has to play three combat cards before escaping. The rule reads: "If Dracula plays “Escape as Mist” or “Escape as Bat” before he has played three combat cards, the card is canceled." The number of despair tokens only affect Dracula's own pride ability, not other vampires.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls