Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Cthulhu Wars» Forums » Rules

Subject: unlimited combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mike o
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I know this question has been asked and answered many times but it seems that the answers have been creating just as many arguments.

When you acquire all 6 spell books combat becomes an Unlimited action and therefore NOT a Normal action and the player MUST perform a Normal or Unique action each turn. So to perform a combat the player must also perform a Normal or Unique action and of course must have enough power for both.

Or some people interpret this as the Combat action performs both duties as a Normal Action and Unlimited action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joey Larsen
United States
Orem
Utah
flag msg tools
The Joeymans chose one to lead them.....The Joeyman
badge
Anyone who thinks that Avatar is a guy with a blue face needs an airbender
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It performs both duties.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Petersen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
it's your sister Cheryl!
badge
I work for Petersen Games. AMA
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fich wrote:
I know this question has been asked and answered many times but it seems that the answers have been creating just as many arguments.

When you acquire all 6 spell books combat becomes an Unlimited action and therefore NOT a Normal action and the player MUST perform a Normal or Unique action each turn. So to perform a combat the player must also perform a Normal or Unique action and of course must have enough power for both.

Or some people interpret this as the Combat action performs both duties as a Normal Action and Unlimited action.


When you have 6 spellbooks, Combat can EITHER be a normal or Unlimited Action.

Having 6 spellbooks does not lessen your options, it only increases them.

I'm pretty sure even the original (less well written) rulebook said that you can still JUST do Battle when you have 6. But, if not, the answer is yes.

You can ALSO do the following, if you have 6 spellbooks:

Battle as an Action.
THEN decide if you want to do another Action as you "normal" Action. devil

In other words, you don't have to predetermine if your Battle is normal or unlimited, if its the first thing you do.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Andersson
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe the only limit on Battle is that you can't declare Battle in the same area more than once per turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Petersen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
it's your sister Cheryl!
badge
I work for Petersen Games. AMA
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
davidryanandersson wrote:
I believe the only limit on Battle is that you can't declare Battle in the same area more than once per turn.


Correct - even with Unlimited Battle, you can only Battle once per Area.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tiago Gouveia
Brazil
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
existoid wrote:
fich wrote:
I know this question has been asked and answered many times but it seems that the answers have been creating just as many arguments.

When you acquire all 6 spell books combat becomes an Unlimited action and therefore NOT a Normal action and the player MUST perform a Normal or Unique action each turn. So to perform a combat the player must also perform a Normal or Unique action and of course must have enough power for both.

Or some people interpret this as the Combat action performs both duties as a Normal Action and Unlimited action.


When you have 6 spellbooks, Combat can EITHER be a normal or Unlimited Action.

Having 6 spellbooks does not lessen your options, it only increases them.

I'm pretty sure even the original (less well written) rulebook said that you can still JUST do Battle when you have 6. But, if not, the answer is yes.

You can ALSO do the following, if you have 6 spellbooks:

Battle as an Action.
THEN decide if you want to do another Action as you "normal" Action. devil

In other words, you don't have to predetermine if your Battle is normal or unlimited, if its the first thing you do.


What about this, With all 6 spellbook already open:

1. Declare battle in one area (let´s say north atlantic for ex.)
2. get pained (let´s say to north pacific)
3. take a move action to move from north pacific to east asia
4. declare second battle in east asia.

Is that ok? I think it so, but would like some confirmation...

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Robinson
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
In memory of Tara, my beloved Wolfhound-Deerhound cross. Flew away Feb 2016, still missed.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tiagomo wrote:

What about this, With all 6 spellbook already open:

1. Declare battle in one area (let´s say north atlantic for ex.)
2. get pained (let´s say to north pacific)
3. take a move action to move from north pacific to east asia
4. declare second battle in east asia.

Is that ok? I think it so, but would like some confirmation...

Thanks


Providing that you haven't already battled in East Asia, yep, that's fine. Otherwise you break the "1 battle per area" rule. i.e. You need to let someone else have a go before you can battle in the same area a second time.

Cheers,
Graham
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Starks
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's completely okay.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tiago Gouveia
Brazil
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks... open the 6 spellbooks really stretches your possibilities
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.