Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Unhappy King Charles!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Picking up brigade in Masked or Besieged Area rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick B
United States
Saint Louis
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
My army moves into an Enemy space that is atop my Fortress that has one of my brigades inside.

In our play last night, the Fortress was only Masked (the enemy hadn't bombarded it yet).

I couldn't find anything that said that the brigade inside couldn't come out and join the attack. Looking in the rules, I found

8.3 Leaving , Transferring & Picking Up Brigades
Although Brigades cannot be dropped off, unled Brigades and those with Local Notables can be (there is no obligation) picked up by Generals and placed on their Command Display in three cases:
1. Where a General is active in an Area with such Brigades

Well, as soon as my active General enters the area, there's the brigade. I couldn't find anything else, so we ruled that my Fortress brigade could join the battle.

After some further thought, I wondered: if the Fortress was besieged, could the unit join in the fight? I would have thought not, but there's nothing in the Fortress or battle section that I could find either. So, can besieged brigade fight in the battle too?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Vasey
England
Mortlake, London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On the latter point is this not answered here:

1 4 . 6 B a t t l e s i n S i e g e A r e a s
The Besieging Army faced by attack chooses whether to:
(a) Lift the Siege (remove the Siege Marker) and fight the
Battle. Any Brigades in the garrison are added to the
attacking Army for purposes of total combat strength
(with losses applied however the controlling player
chooses) and the General with the higher Subordination
level uses his Battle Rating. However, if Subordination
(9.5) would prevent the Armies from stacking, ignore the
garrison
OR
(b) Fight without the number of Brigades necessary to
maintain the Siege (the garrison is not used in Battle in
this case). If the Besieger is defeated, the Siege marker
and the Bombardment Value are both lost.

On the former point I see no limit.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick B
United States
Saint Louis
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Thanks. I thought I had read somewhere about brigades in a besieged fortress, but I couldn't find it.

I think it's because my mind sees "The Besieging Army faced by attack chooses whether to:" and then thinks 'well, I'm looking for a besieged brigade mention, not a besieging army' and move along elsewhere.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls