Subject: The Yale Story - Perspective to think about rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lynette
United States
Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
Yep, I am a girl Scientist. Come for the breasts; Stay for the brains!
badge
For as long as I shall live I will testify to love; I'll be a witness in the silences when words are not enough.
mbmbmbmbmb
Well Well Well,

First it turns out that the essence of the story facts pretty much are probably true.

Classmate who helped design the prank backs up Carson's story

Quote:
“When I read about the story in the Wall Street Journal, I immediately said, to my wife and friend, ‘That was the prank we played at the Record! And Ben Carson was in the class,’” said Bakal

Bakal, the Record editorial assistant at the time, remembered other details about the prank that are compatible with Carson’s account, such as the unusual difficulty of the test. “Several students showed up, and the fake exam, a parody of exam — in fact, it had real psych questions, because I had taken the class the year before, but it was a more difficult and probing personal exam,” he said.

But Bakal also backed up Carson’s claim that “at the end what few students remained — it may have just been one or two, I wasn’t there — received a small cash prize.” Bakal noted a staffer from the Record “impersonated a proctor to give the test.” (Carson said a professor had given him the cash prize in his written account.)

But the REAL perspective that the PRESS should be ashamed of itself for perverting is this:

They twisted the entire point of the story related in the book.

I just went and read it and I am infuriated anew by the asinine pettiness of the Press and the depths of misdirection THEY will go to when they are out to get someone.

The story starts with Carson talking about how money was always scarce for him at college and he says that twice, when flat broke God found a way to bless him.