Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Wing Leader: Victories 1940-1942» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two clarifications-dog fight and protection values rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kenneth Lury
United States
Blowing rock
NC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dogfight-the first combat after dogfight declared is in the combat phase of the following turn- is this correct ?

Two protection values- maybe the explanation is in the advanced rules, but so far using the basic rules, I do not understand how to use the two numbers.

Thanks in advance for your help
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wedge
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
See 10.6, Losses.

If the roll is less than the enemy squadron’s protection rating (or ratings if two numbers are listed), no loss has occurred.

If the roll is greater than the enemy’s protection rating (or both ratings if two numbers are listed), a loss has occurred. Place a Loss marker on the enemy squadron’s Wing Display.

If the roll equals the enemy’s protection rating (or one of the ratings), place a Straggler marker on the target’s Wing Display.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Brimmicombe-Wood
United Kingdom
Ely
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
radsailor wrote:
Dogfight-the first combat after dogfight declared is in the combat phase of the following turn- is this correct ?


This is correct. The living rules already have a fix to clarify this and we'll make it clearer in the volume 2 rules.

radsailor wrote:
Two protection values- maybe the explanation is in the advanced rules, but so far using the basic rules, I do not understand how to use the two numbers.

Thanks in advance for your help


10.6 is the rules section to look at. In summary:

Modified die roll greater than the two numbers = loss
Modified die roll equal to either of the two numbers = straggler
Modified die roll less than the two numbers = no effect
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenneth Lury
United States
Blowing rock
NC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the as always fast replies. I missed the part where if roll equals either of the two protection values there is a straggler. So the intent of the rule is to not let the squadron with two protection numbers off too easy-less chance of loss,greater chance of no effect, but increased risk of straggler
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wedge
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's enough to make the bombers more resilient, as the cohesion roll for bombers means you need to hit them with a lot of kills to disrupt or break a squadron, and the two protection values can reduce the kill rate by half.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.