Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: 'Warrant Officer' clarifications rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gordon Watson
United Kingdom
Banstead
Surrey - United Kingdom
flag msg tools
ASL - other tactical wargames call it Sir.
badge
Beneath this mask there is an idea.....and ideas are bulletproof.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The wording for 'Warrant Officer' reads 'Response After you commit Warrant Officer to a story, each (agency) character you control at that story gains (Skull) + (Arcane)'

A few questions:-

- Does 'Warrant Officer' itself gain (Skull) + (Arcane), i.e. benefit from it's own ability?

- If 'Warrant Officer' gets removed from the story during the Terror or Combat steps - do the icons it applied still apply to other characters still at the story.

- If you have another character committed to the story that has an attached 'Snowmobile' (wording - 'While attached character is committed to a story, it counts it's icons at each other story where you have 1 or more characters committed'), do the icons provided to the Snowmobile character by 'Warrant Officer' also count at each other story...?

Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carthoris Pyramidos
United States
Centennial
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
- Does 'Warrant Officer' itself gain (Skull) + (Arcane), i.e. benefit from it;s own ability?

Yes.

- If 'Warrant Officer' gets removed from the story during the Terror or Combat steps - do the icons it applied still apply to other characters still at the story.

Yes, for the remainder of the phase.

- If you have another character committed to the story that has an attached 'Snowmobile' (wording - 'While attached character is committed to a story, it counts it's icons at each other story where you have 1 or more characters committed') do the icons provided to the Snowmobile character by 'Warrant Officer' also count at each other story...?

Hm. Trickier than the earlier questions, but I would say yes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Plunkett
Australia
Balmain
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Carthoris is right.
A respounding yes to all three questions.

Notes:

1) There is nothing stopping things giving themselves benefits/negatives, and its very common in cthulhu that cards affecting a group mention a group to which that card applies.
To have it not include itself, it would have said "... each other (agency) character ..."

2) This effect is a response, that gives them the icons. It doesn't say how long, so we use the default of the remainder of the phase.

If instead this was a passive effect, then it would disappear along with Warrant Officer, should he be removed from the story.


3) Assuming that the snowmobile character was an (Agency) character, as required by the Warrant Officer text. Icons you gain are yours, pretty much regardless of what you might do with them, and snowmobile means the character can count its icons elsewhere.
If the snowmobile had mentioned "printed icons" instead of just "icons", then the extra (C)(A) icons would not apply at other stories.


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.