Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Building a Facility without resources rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
S├ębastien Gamache
Canada
St-Arsene
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi there,

Research didn't helped me answer this question :

Only by exhausting a planet 0/3 (like Rarron by example), can we build a Facility?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Pratt
United States
Snohomish
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Building a facility requires you to spend a resource AND if the planet isn't already exhausted, to exhaust it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed with Greg. It costs 1 resource to build a facility. You must also exhaust the planet (if it's not already exhausted). If the planet provides resources, you CAN use the resources on the planet to help pay for it. But if the planet has no resources, while you must still exhaust it, it won't help pay for it.

Even if you add a Refinery to the planet, the refinery's effects don't take place until after it's built, which is after you already had to spend resources and exhaust the planet, so the refinery can't pay for itself. (This was probably obvious, but I add it for completeness).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S├ębastien Gamache
Canada
St-Arsene
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So then what means this :

Quote:
"Important: Building a facility on a planet exhausts
that planet, if it is not exhausted already. You may
exhaust a planet to build a facility
on that planet, but
you do not receive the extra influence or resource that
game round."
Doesn't imply that if I do not want to pay a resource I could pay only by exhausting it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Grummore wrote:
So then what means this :

Quote:
"Important: Building a facility on a planet exhausts
that planet, if it is not exhausted already. You may
exhaust a planet to build a facility
on that planet, but
you do not receive the extra influence or resource that
game round."
Doesn't imply that if I do not want to pay a resource I could pay only by exhausting it?
No, all that's saying is that you are allowed to exhaust it and use it's resources when building the facility. But it still has to have resources to spend if you are going to use them.

Maybe it's not worded the best, but it always costs a single resource to build, but if the planet provides resources, you can use the planet itself to pay for it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Randolph
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sigmazero13 wrote:
Grummore wrote:
So then what means this :

Quote:
"Important: Building a facility on a planet exhausts
that planet, if it is not exhausted already. You may
exhaust a planet to build a facility
on that planet, but
you do not receive the extra influence or resource that
game round."
Doesn't imply that if I do not want to pay a resource I could pay only by exhausting it?
No, all that's saying is that you are allowed to exhaust it and use it's resources when building the facility. But it still has to have resources to spend if you are going to use them.

Maybe it's not worded the best, but it always costs a single resource to build, but if the planet provides resources, you can use the planet itself to pay for it.
Not to be tedious, but you must activate the system the planet is in that you are building the facility on as well, and build the facility in that same activation turn, I believe this is correct (?).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SFRR wrote:
sigmazero13 wrote:
Grummore wrote:
So then what means this :

Quote:
"Important: Building a facility on a planet exhausts
that planet, if it is not exhausted already. You may
exhaust a planet to build a facility
on that planet, but
you do not receive the extra influence or resource that
game round."
Doesn't imply that if I do not want to pay a resource I could pay only by exhausting it?
No, all that's saying is that you are allowed to exhaust it and use it's resources when building the facility. But it still has to have resources to spend if you are going to use them.

Maybe it's not worded the best, but it always costs a single resource to build, but if the planet provides resources, you can use the planet itself to pay for it.
Not to be tedious, but you must activate the system the planet is in that you are building the facility on as well, and build the facility in that same activation turn, I believe this is correct (?).
Correct, it's similar in a way to building a Space Dock.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls