Subject: 4 Player rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United Kingdom
Southampton
Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
I'll think of something witty to put here...
mbmbmbmbmb
This was only my 3rd game of Alhambra, and the first for the other 3 players.

I set it up, explained the rules and off we went. I've figured out that it is best to put the scoring track to one side, like you would in Carcassonne, so the market, tiles, currency decks and market are more central.

I went first, having been dealt only 3 cards that totaled 20, so spent the early game drafting lots of cards, mostly 2 at a time because a lot of low ones came out.

The first scoring card came out relatively early, by which time we all had only 1 or two tiles out. I had a purple one so got 6 points, the other three players had 5,4 and 3 points. Because I'm still learning the game , I didn't pay an enormous ammount of attention to what the other were doing, but I did notice people drafting orange cards when a nice tile with no walls came out on the orange spot.

I built a mixture of colours, slightly biased towards the more high scoring ones, but picked up a lot of wall. By the midgame, I was finding it hard to place stuff so by the end I had 3 tiles in reserve. I also spent at least one action swapping stuff out. On the other hand I did finish with a great big wall (about 15 long, I think).

After the 2nd scoring round, which came slightly later than average, I (yellow) was second, about 5 or 6 points behind the leader (red), with 3rd place a few behind me (green), and 4th trailling somewhat (blue).

Towards the end game I noticed we were all on 2 "gardens" each, so made every effort to buy one, only for Steve (green) to get one for free at the end with about 18 points of orange in hand.