Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Memoir '44» Forums » Rules

Subject: Backing up rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mo
Canada
Pointe-à-la-Croix
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
While doing your regular movement phase with any types of units can you backup voluntarily?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Taylor-Smith
Canada
Okotoks
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not sure what you mean by 'backup voluntarily', could you clarify?

If you mean take your move back and do something different then it would depend on your opponent. Once a player starts rolling dice in the combat phase I'd wouldn't let him/her then change ordering and movement of units (unless it was a really new player trying to learn).

You can only move units if they are ordered. You can't move units not ordered by a command card simply to get them out of the way of other units ordered and moving. To clarify since a scouting card only orders one unit that ordered unit cannot move into any hexagon already occupied by another unit, all the other units cannot 'voluntarily' move out of the way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Earl
United States
Portage
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think he means move towards his own baseline, in which case the answer is yes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kent Reuber
United States
San Mateo
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Units in Commands & Colors games such as Memoir have no concept of facing. So, any unit can move in any direction. The only directionality comes during retreat, where the direction is always towards the friendly baseline.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Grrr
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If Herr Hitler is your CinC, no, you cannot back up...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Wong
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jake11Simon wrote:
If Herr Hitler is your CinC, no, you cannot back up...
We're not backing up. We are advancing to the rear.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Friend
United States
Sierra Vista
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"No, not retreat sir. Redeploy!"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil McDonald
England
Staffordshire
UK
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jake11Simon wrote:
If Herr Hitler is your CinC, no, you cannot back up...
Also the Japanese, but if you're playing The Italians.....

Seriously though, voluntarilly retreating a single figure (non-Tiger) unit is sometimes good strategy, especially close to the end-game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mo
Canada
Pointe-à-la-Croix
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cheng wrote:
I think he means move towards his own baseline, in which case the answer is yes.
Yes that is what i meant. Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Charters
United States
Chandler
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
saxophone wrote:
We're not backing up. We are advancing to the rear.
You must be playing the French!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls