Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: gotw [+] [View All]
Michelle Zentis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Please join me in a warm welcome for this week's Geek of the Week, Shawn Low! He's been around BGG for years and always has interesting insights, so I thought it would be great to get to know him better.

Here's what he'd like us to know about him up front:

Quote:
I'm a 28 this year...I know, still a young 'un and I don't work in IT. I'm a book editor for Lonely Planet publications (and no, I don't get to travel for work) and live in Melbourne, Australia.
My gaming path isn't different from most people. I grew up in Singapore and my birthdays would involve trawling down the aisles of Toys r Us with my mum in tow. Believe it or not, TRU then had a policy where they didn't allow kids under 16 to walk into the store unaccompanied by an 'adult'!

I invariably found myself drawn to the then-impressive boardgame shelves...it was magical! I would pick each box up, read the blurb and look at the posed images of kids having fun around the board. My collection steadily grew thanks in part to an aunt who also brought me games when she visited from the UK.

My diet of games then consisted of the usual suspects: Cluedo, Payday, Monopoly, Mad, Operation, Risk...there were a few gems including Scotland Yard. I mostly gamed with my brother and 2 other friends at least once a week. A few years later, we discovered Heroquest and played it and all the expansions to death or until my mum threw them out (argh, looking at the value of the Barbarian and Elf quest packs sends pain through my system).

I took a hiatus from gaming as comics, Magic the Gathering and then later, girls took priority. I got out of MtG with a profit and didn't really play many games until a friend brought me back into the fold in 2002. Since then, I caught the bug and haven't looked back.