Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Phantom Leader Deluxe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Newbie question: do I really have to fire everything at once? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Elwyn Chow
Australia
flag msg tools
mb
In the rules on p11 under Attack Restrictions:

Attack the Target card with any and all Air-to-Ground
weapon counters provided they are in range of the Target
and the Aircraft is at the proper Altitude.
OR
Attack the Target card with Guns, if at Low Altitude and
in the Center Area.
OR
Attack any one Site with any and all Air-to-Ground
weapon counters provided they are in range of the Site
and the Aircraft is at the proper Altitude and Attack
Angle.
OR
Attack any one Site with Guns, if the Aircraft is at Low
Altitude and in the same Area as the Site.
OR
Attack any one Bandit with any and all Air-to-Air
weapon counters that are in range of the Bandit.
OR
Attack any one Bandit with Guns, if in the same Area as
the Bandit.


So... Does that really mean that if I choose to attack, I must use everything at once on a single site/target and rather than save something for later? Why do I have to fire all my Sidewinders and Sparrows at a single enemy?

I would rather use some munitions to take out non-Target Card threats such as SAMs so the squadron doesn't need to worry about the SAMs while over the centre area then drop the remaining munitions on the target.

Or is the game forcing me to need to plan my loadout extra carefully? eg have somethings that can only be fired at high altitude and some that can only be fired at low altitude and change altitude to suit my plane at the end of the turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michal
Poland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
You may choose how many weapon counters will you use for an attack. You don't have to use all of them at once.

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Roberts
United Kingdom
Southport
Merseyside
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd just add that where it says "and all" it means that all the weapons you fire must attack the same target, not that you must fire all of your weapons.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.