Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Commands & Colors: Napoleonics» Forums » Rules

Subject: First Strike Card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
stefano g
msg tools
If i roll a flag (or more) with 1st strike do i cancel enemy attack?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duke
United States
Georgetown
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, assuming your attacker cannot ignore the flag, it would force him to retreat and cancel his attack (unless he can then range attack you).

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Gabrielli
Italy
Ascoli
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick answer, i had the same doubt.

Example

LN moves 1 and melee another LN.
I use 1st strike and roll 1 flag.
Attacker LN retreats and shoots me.

Am i right?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Grrr
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We may have been playing it wrong, but we always play that if the first strike play retreats the attacker first (ie he moves back) then the attacker is done, no option for a ranged attack.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thom Brennan
United States
Louisiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jake11Simon wrote:
... we always play that if the first strike play retreats the attacker first (ie he moves back) then the attacker is done, no option for a ranged attack.
I'd agree with that. The attacker declared a melee attack. He was repulsed, so that's the end of the attack.

Nothing about this on the official C&C: Napoleonics web site (I just checked.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McG
Australia
Penshurst
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
from the rules

Quote:
Combat is a term that is used for both ranged combat (fire) and melee combat. To fire, a unit must be within range and have a line of sight to the target unit. To melee, a unit must be in an adjacent hex to the target unit. An ordered unit may only engage in one type of combat when ordered, even if it is capable of both types of combat.
Combat is resolved, one ordered unit at a time, in the sequence of your choice. You may switch between ranged combat and melee combat from one unit to the next; however, you must announce and resolve one unit’s combat, including all related additional combat actions stemming from that battle entirely, before proceeding to another ordered unit’s combat.
http://www.commandsandcolors.net/napoleonics/the-game/game-b...

so my reading is an announced Melee combat cannot be switched to a Ranged combat after First Strike is played
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Dippel
Germany
Rheinhausen
Baden-Württemberg
flag msg tools
I am from Bavaria
badge
King Ludwig II of Bavaria
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Quote:
Nothing about this on the official C&C: Napoleonics web site (I just checked.)
Some rules are so clear (if you read rulebook carefull), so they don´t need any FAQ

You have announced a Melee Attack (see Melee Combat Procedure), not a Ranged Conmbat (Fire) Procedure.

So you follow the Melee Combat Procedure including the wording on FS:

FIRST STRIKE - Play this card after opponent
declares a melee attack, but before the
dice roll. Your defending unit will battle first.
If the opponent’s unit is neither eliminated
nor retreats it may then battle as originally
ordered.


Don´t see any lack of clarity, except you want to see any.....

Phase 4.
COMBAT
Combat is a term that is used for both ranged combat (fire) and
melee combat. To fire, a unit must be within range and have a
line of sight to the target unit. To melee, a unit must be in an
adjacent hex to the target unit. An ordered unit may only engage
in one type of combat when ordered

6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Minot
North Dakota
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As Michael points out, the card itself says a retreat cancels the original attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duke
United States
Georgetown
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, sorry guys. Was answering from the cuff. The card says it all...

We have such a GREAT team here. Someone always has someone else's back.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls