Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The U.S. Civil War» Forums » Rules

Subject: on to Richmond rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Stimpson
United States
Westminster
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
4.1.4 reads:

"...the Union player must use at least one AP to activate a force to attack or capture a hex in VA, MD or PA containing a resource hex or Confederate SP. Failure to do so..."

What do we mean by 'do so'?

a) Failure to expend an AP to activate a force as above

or

b) Failure to succeed in attacking/capturing a hex....

The only exception cited in the rule is if the Confederates avoid battle. But if the Union player activates the force and attacks the hex, but gets beaten back, is he saved from removing the 1SP from the map?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Finkenbinder
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, all you have to do is attack - there is no condition that you have to win. In fact, the Union often did not win.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The only way you can fail to attack the hex is if the Confederates avoid battle. Otherwise, you did in fact attack the hex. Even if you didn't win.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Lipkin
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Microbadge: ASL fanMicrobadge: COIN fanMicrobadge: Eldritch Horror fan
If the Union attacks and the Confederates succeed in avoiding battle, that still satisfies the On To Richmond requirement with no penalty for the Union.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Stimpson
United States
Westminster
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right - so the point of the rule is to force the Union player to expend at least 1 AP in the Eastern theatre, regardless of outcome.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls