Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Dark Valley» Forums » Rules

Subject: What blocks command range? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick B
United States
Saint Louis
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
According the 2.4 Terms and Abbreviations entry for "Command Range":
"...(tracing without regard to intervening units)..."

It does not say that anything else blocks command range. I checked 10.5.7 for Panzer Army Chit, and 11.2 for Terrain Effects: they don't mention it either, nor does the Terrain chart.

I had a panzer unit over a lake hex from my Panzer HQ; tracing around the lake it couldn't be reached in 3 hexes; through the lake, it could be reached in 3 hexes. We couldn't find anything that said I couldn't activate it, but we thought that probably Command Range was blocked by impassible terrain, although it doesn't say that anywhere. Is it?

(Went through rulebook: "impassible" is only mentioned once in 6.5. "lake" is mentioned thrice at 7.3, 13.2, 13.3)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Haggett
United States
Riverside
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No, it's not blocked. Think of it as radio or light aircraft. Mind you, as I think you're aware, that won't keep you in supply (which is traced differently).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick B
United States
Saint Louis
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Thanks. Yes, can't trace supply over the lake, but if I can activate it, then I can move it closer TO supply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls