Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Victory in Europe» Forums » General

Subject: Naval bases rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Willem Boersma
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
7.33 Naval Bases can hold 2 naval
units. Both fire and take hits normally,
an exception to naval shore combat
reflecting shore defences,
etc. Only
one naval unit may attack a naval base.
Submarine units located in a friendly
Naval Base may claim Double Defense
(pens), but cannot then fire in combat.

What exactly is meant by the part in bold italics? And what is naval shore combat? (the same as shore bombardment [ under the current rules, 1.1])?

As for the following sentence saying that only one naval unit may attack a naval base:

* I assume this is supposed to reflect the difficulty of attacking ships in port? (mines, coastal batteries etc.). Then again, this is already being referred to in the preceding sentence.

* I also assume the attacker may send an air unit along?

I was also thinking, if I'm right about the first asterisk above, wouldn't it be a simpler and more elegant solution to just say that units defending in port get +1 firepower?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Draker
United States
McLean
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It simply means that both units defend if attacked. Yes, an air unit may accompany a naval raid.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls