BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Do It Yourself

Subject: Total Newbie Painting Problem rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
S C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello, I've decided I want to learn to paint and so I have bought some cheap mechs to practice on. Before even doing that I thought I would practice on the bases they come with as they would be even cheaper to replace.

Now I washed them, sprayed them with gray primer (it's definitely plastic primer paint) and left them to dry. So far so good they look well primed and as I imagine. I add some paint to a plastic lid and thin it with water and begin.

However the paint just doesn't seem to want to stick. It just flows off the plastic and leaves some rubbish streaky thin mess. Is this a problem with the paints I'm using (The Works finest) or am I doing something wrong?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Stoffa
United States
White Haven
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you thinned it too much, you might have simply created a "wash". Maybe try less thinning and see what happens. A wash is usually thinner and allows the paint to seep into crevices to help with shadowing and highlights. If your bases are smooth, you might get your result.

BTW, I am no expert, so take this as one beginner to another.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Read the rulebook, plan for all contingencies, and…read the rulebook again.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Are you using acrylic paints? The bottle should say if it is. You may be adding too much water.

A mix of 3 drops acrylic paint and 2 drops water tends to work for me—but it can fluctuate by brand. a 1-1 mixture might be better, if thicker.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff K
United States
Garner
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb