Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: dancing weapon and shu shin lightsaber cleave ?? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sebastiaan Kuijs
msg tools
mbmb
Can you cleave with shu shin lightsaber and dancing weapon
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. As long as she damages the first target, she can cleave to any eligible target. With a ranged weapon, that means anyone that meets the Accuracy criteria. It's a cool effect, she throws her saber and then with the force guides it over to a different badguy, even if in the opposite direction.

-shnar
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastiaan Kuijs
msg tools
mbmb
K thnx for the quick anwser and if he hits the first target and he has range can he then cleave in distance for instance my teammate hit and nexus and a target was 4 away can he cleave that with 6 range ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. As shnar said, Ranged Cleave works by choosing a different target within the Accuracy rolled on the dice. It doesn't matter whether Cleave's target is further away or closer than the original target space.

Provided the original target suffers damage and you rolled X Accuracy, then Ranged Cleave allows you to choose any different target to which you have Line of Sight and is also within X spaces of the attacking figure to suffer the damage amount written after Cleave.

Note that this is one case which is not directly in line with the word of the rules (which would allow you to pick any target within Line of Sight as a valid Cleave target), but it is the officially intended way to resolve Ranged Cleave.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
markus s
msg tools
Is there a link or rules reference for this official ruling?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FAQ3.0 from https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/products/star-wars-imp...

· When a figure uses the Cleave keyword during a
attack,
the hostile figure chosen to suffer the mb from Cleave must
be within line of sight of the attacker and within a number of
spaces of the attacker equal to or less than the Accuracy result
of the attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
G Voss
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmb
Oh, that's surprising! So if the original target was, say, four spaces away and four accuracy was rolled, the cleave damage could be dealt to a target up to eight squares from the attacker? Assuming all other criteria are met of course.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lathuvan wrote:
Oh, that's surprising! So if the original target was, say, four spaces away and four accuracy was rolled, the cleave damage could be dealt to a target up to eight squares from the attacker? Assuming all other criteria are met of course.


No.

The Cleave target must be within 4 spaces of the attacker, and also within line of sight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
G Voss
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmb
Right. I misread. Sorry.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.