Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Gallerist» Forums » Rules

Subject: Displaying art acquired at auction rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Drew Balfour

Erie
Colorado
msg tools
mbmbmb
Are the pieces of are acquired at the end of the game from the auction implicitly considered masterpieces?

E.g. you have 3 pieces of non-masterpiece art displayed in your gallery. You win the auction and select a sculpture and there are no celebrity artists in sculpture (the highest fame is one red star). You receive 14 coins for the art. Can you display it in your 4th gallery slot (and therefore count it towards the Curator card) or does it have to go with the sold art (and counts towards the Art Dealer card)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Grantz
United States
Bel Aire
Kansas
flag msg tools
publisher
http://www.eggrules.com/games/games-d-l/gallerist-the/
badge
US Sales Manager for Eagle-Gryphon Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
abalfour wrote:
Are the pieces of are acquired at the end of the game from the auction implicitly considered masterpieces?

E.g. you have 3 pieces of non-masterpiece art displayed in your gallery. You win the auction and select a sculpture and there are no celebrity artists in sculpture (the highest fame is one red star). You receive 14 coins for the art. Can you display it in your 4th gallery slot (and therefore count it towards the Curator card) or does it have to go with the sold art (and counts towards the Art Dealer card)?


The Player(s) who win the auction chooses one of the renowned Works of Art on display and places that piece of artwork either in their Gallery even if there are no spaces available, or next to their Player board along with any previously sold art.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sergio Perez
United States
Terrell
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It isn't considered a masterpiece in any regard, but it can go in either the player's gallery or sold works section regardless of whether or not the owner has any open spaces within their gallery. So, if you only have 3 slots in your gallery due to not having a masterpiece, it doesn't matter. The auctioned work can still go there, even if you do not have an open slot.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew Balfour

Erie
Colorado
msg tools
mbmbmb
Phoenix_Samurai wrote:
[q="abalfour"
The Player(s) who win the auction chooses one of the renowned Works of Art on display and places that piece of artwork either in their Gallery even if there are no spaces available, or next to their Player board along with any previously sold art.


So if you win an auction piece you can technically have 5 displayed pieces of art for counting your Curator bonus? Cool!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aernout Casier
Netherlands
Nijmegen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
abalfour wrote:
Phoenix_Samurai wrote:
[q="abalfour"
The Player(s) who win the auction chooses one of the renowned Works of Art on display and places that piece of artwork either in their Gallery even if there are no spaces available, or next to their Player board along with any previously sold art.


So if you win an auction piece you can technically have 5 displayed pieces of art for counting your Curator bonus? Cool!

Exactly. And that is the only way of getting both Curator bonuses!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben O'Steen
United Kingdom
Bishops Stortford
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also worth pointing out that the player that wins the artwork auction also gets money equal to its "worth"! Missed that rule in first few plays!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.