Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Dominion: Prince Promo Card» Forums » Rules

Subject: Prince and Swamp Hag rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Will Yum
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
mb
I was reading about Prince in a strategy wiki and it said that Duration cards do not work well with it.

But it seems to me that if you set aside Swamp Hag with Prince (after playing Highway first) that you would get coins each turn and also curse your opponents when they buy cards. devil

Is this correct?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Glory to Rome!
badge
"Let each man pass his days in that wherein his skill is greatest" Propertius Sextus
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The problem is that Prince can't set Swamp Hag aside the turn it is played since it isn't discarded from play. The wording of Prince is very specific and highly technical. Duration cards just don't get played every turn with Prince like other actions. This is not a special rule, but due to the wording of Prince itself.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Yum
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
mb
Ah.

So the Swamp Hag would activate the first time you play it with Prince. And since Swamp Hag is not discarded after that first play of it, Swamp Hag does not stay in play.

Right?

But what happens to Swamp Hag in this case? Is it lost in limbo?

Prince says to set it (target card) aside when discarding it (the target card). But since Swamp Hag is not discarded (as it's a duration card on its first go through) it is not set aside. According the Prince, you stop playing the target card as it's not set aside.

Where does the target duration card go??
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George I.
Switzerland
Lausanne
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
willyum wrote:
Ah.

So the Swamp Hag would activate the first time you play it with Prince. And since Swamp Hag is not discarded after that first play of it, Swamp Hag does not stay in play.

Right?

But what happens to Swamp Hag in this case? Is it lost in limbo?

Prince says to set it (target card) aside when discarding it (the target card). But since Swamp Hag is not discarded (as it's a duration card on its first go through) it is not set aside. According the Prince, you stop playing the target card as it's not set aside.

Where does the target duration card go??
Here's the sequence:

1. Turn #1: Play Prince, set him aside.
2. Choose "Swamp Hag" and set it aside as well with Prince. Nothing else happens.
3. Start of turn #2: Play Swamp Hag because it's on a Prince.
4. End of turn #2: Swamp Hag is a duration card, so it stays in front of you, in the "Duration cards area" (I've just coined it).
5. Since the Swamp Hag has not been discarded, Prince has lost track of it. The "lose track of" rule is explained in the Dominion: Dark Ages rulebook. Basically, you just have a set-aside Prince, who does nothing, but will return to your deck at the end of the game, for the purposes of Vineyard or Gardens.
6. Until the start of turn #3, any other player who buys a card also gains a Curse.
7. Start of turn #3: Swamp Hag enters play and resolves the "start of next turn" effect, i.e., you gain $3.
8. End of turn #3: Swamp Hag is discarded. There's nothing to prevent the card from being discarded.
7 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Monsen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Prince doesn't work with duration cards as it loses track of them. The duration card still works as normal, but never goes back to the Prince. The Prince then contains no card, and remains on the side by itself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Everette Robertson
United States
Calhoun
KY
flag msg tools
mbmb
If you Princed a Scheme, you could alternate Scheming two Swamp Hags every turn to get the effect you want. But of course, in order to do this, you have to wade through opponents' Swamp Hags, and eventually, the Curses would run out.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Weaver
United States
Denver
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Prince a Gear but never set any cards aside. That's a way to make Prince work with a Duration.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.