Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Fire in the Lake» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does Police blocks movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
M B
France
FONSORBES
Haute-Garonne
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One question raised during our last play : does an ARVN Police on a LoC prevents any VC/NVA pieces to March from one space to another if these two spaces are adjacent across this LoC ?

Thanx for any hints !

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Craig
United States
Bellevue
Nebraska
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No the police do not block the movement. The spaces are considered adjacent according to rule 1.3.6. The march operation 3.3.2 allows you to move between adjacent spaces with no mention of enemy forces blocking them.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M B
France
FONSORBES
Haute-Garonne
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kbclac wrote:
No the police do not block the movement. The spaces are considered adjacent according to rule 1.3.6. The march operation 3.3.2 allows you to move between adjacent spaces with no mention of enemy forces blocking them.

Thank you. thumbsup

That's the way we played it. But this deserved a confirmation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dave vv
msg tools
I dont see much use for police on locs as they wont eliminate guerrillas present and dont block movement. Any ideas?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tamtam0069 wrote:
I dont see much use for police on locs as they wont eliminate guerrillas present and dont block movement. Any ideas?

During both Patrol and Assault police are effective against insurgents on LOCs (and therefore also during Advise used as ARVN assault).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Putting 3 Police on a LoC (well, a total of any 3 COIN cubes+SF really, but the other types are more useful elsewhere) means that the Guerrillas become Activated if they try to move onto (as opposed to across) that LoC. This means that they can't use that LoC for zero-cost March+Ambush combinations.

During the Coup Round (6.2.1), having at least as many COIN units as Guerrillas on a LoC prevents those Guerrillas from Sabotaging that LoC (as long as all Cities adjacent to the LoC have COIN Control, that is). For the ARVN, it is quite useful to have a source of Resources that the US can't spend at will...

Regards,
Oerjan
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M B
France
FONSORBES
Haute-Garonne
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oerjan wrote:
Putting 3 Police on a LoC (well, a total of any 3 COIN cubes+SF really, but the other types are more useful elsewhere) means that the Guerrillas become Activated if they try to move onto (as opposed to across) that LoC. This means that they can't use that LoC for zero-cost March+Ambush combinations.

During the Coup Round (6.2.1), having at least as many COIN units as Guerrillas on a LoC prevents those Guerrillas from Sabotaging that LoC (as long as all Cities adjacent to the LoC have COIN Control, that is). For the ARVN, it is quite useful to have a source of Resources that the US can't spend at will...

Regards,
Oerjan


Great explanations of how to take advantages of Police onto LoCs. thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.