Subject: MegaBearsFan review of Sails of Glory rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Grade Jason
United States
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmb
I started playing Sails of glory about a month ago, and recently posted a review of it to my personal blog: http://www.megabearsfan.net/post/2015/11/15/Sails-of-Glory-b...

Keep in mind that this review comes from someone who has not played Wings of Glory or any other age of sail board / miniature games. So I'm coming into this mostly fresh (with only Star Wars: X-Wing providing any point of comparison).

A brief summary of the review:
+ The modular ruleset provides flexibility and caters to players of varying ages, skill levels, preferences, and time constraints. It does, however, make the rulebook a little cumbersome and difficult to navigate sometimes. It's like having three board games in one!

+ Elegant design that provides nearly simulation-level depth without the need for spreadsheets, pencils, or calculators.

+ Simultaneous actions keeps the pace of the game flowing smoothly for all players.

+ I much prefer the use of damage tokens as opposed to relying on die rolls. The fact that damage tokens are removed from play when used acts to normalize damage over the course of the game.

- Chain and grape shot feel very underwhelming.

- The game's greatest weakness is its components. Ship models look great, and seem durable to me, but the insert cards are difficult to remove from the base since there's no way to push them out from behind. The ship models themselves also interfere with all the measurements for line-of-sight and so forth, and it's very hard to make these measurements and maneuver without tampering with the ships and shifting their positions. I've also already started to see some bending in the line-of-sight rulers and ship log frames.