Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Risk 2210 A.D.» Forums » Rules

Subject: Defending with commanders - who gets a D8 to defend? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Evan Duly
Canada
Langley
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
When defending with commanders - who gets a D8 to defend?

The rulebook is a bit unclear, it seems to imply the Diplomat is the only one who gets a D8 when defending and that is his "special power". And for the other commanders it only specifies that they get D8 when attacking in their respective territories.

So do land and nuclear commanders get D8 for defending on land spaces?

Do naval and lunar commanders get D8 when defending in naval and lunar colonies?

Any help would be great.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Pugmire
United States
Fayetteville
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmb
All 5 commanders defend with D8 all the time, everywhere. It says that in the rules where it talks about commanders generally. Since it's only their D8 attacking that varies, that is what is called out in the rulebook under their respective individual explanations.


Also, all mods on territories with a space station defend with a D8.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yeah, it's quite useful to have all the commanders even if you have them just for the defense die.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr Power
msg tools
Hypothetical Question 1: If in some odd circumstance you find it strategically advantageous to not use a D8 to defend your commander, can you choose to use a D6? Or are commanders always required to use a D8?

Hypothetical Question 2: If in some odd circumstance you find it strategically advantageous to not defend your commander at all, or maybe even an entire territory, can you refuse to roll defensive die and simply let your opponent kill your commander and/or conquer your territory without putting up a fight?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin De Schutter
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Answer 1 : No, U always use a D8.
Answer 2 : Without a command card saying something else (e.g. retreat) you must defend.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.