Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
23 Posts

Arcadia Quest: Inferno» Forums » General

Subject: Replacing black dice with guild dice? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Geringer
United States
Forestburgh
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How many sets of guild dice would I need to buy to realistically give every player a unique set of their own dice (never having to roll black dice again?)

New to the game and trying to figure out what add-on packs to get.

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Maloney
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
"If trees could scream, would we be so cavalier about cutting them down? We might, if they screamed all the time, for no good reason." -Jack Handey
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
4 dice per player would be very minimal. 5-6 would be more realistic, though even that could come up short sometimes. You get 1 die per player in the base pledge and 1 more per player for each set you order.

But thus far, you can only buy original AQ guild-colored dice. I presume they'll offer the new guild colors later on?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
She's such a Geek
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It would make for an awesome stretch goal!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff ...
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Frankly I think it's too costly to be worth it. Half-way through a campaign we regularly rolled 4-5 dice for a single attack, and that doesn't include re-rolls for crits.

The new Level 6 items require 6 dice, then you have hero abilities like Grom (adds +1 die when wounded), as well as boosters and re-rolls for crits.

The guild dice stretch goal obviously encourages backer spending on multiple dice packs. If you want 6 dice per guild (enough in most but not all cases), you're looking at 5 packs of dice at $9ea. Almost $50 for dice, that's half the pledge cost! Oh and that doesn't include dice for the AQ1 guilds assuming you want to use them (I do).

I'll probably just use black dice, and perhaps give each player the single colour die that comes with the stretch goal.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Geringer
United States
Forestburgh
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Im new to the game so I thank you for letting me know. I think I will order a set or two of black dice and stop there. Maybe a set of original guild dice too.

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
noah caldwell
United States
galt
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I found the color dice really hard to see and use . They were more of a distraction imop.. I ended up selling them and getting more of the black and white dice .
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
United States
Rocky Hill
CT
flag msg tools
To be vulnerable ...
badge
... is needed most of all.
Avatar
mbmb
PonSquared wrote:
How many sets of guild dice would I need to buy to realistically give every player a unique set of their own dice (never having to roll black dice again?)

New to the game and trying to figure out what add-on packs to get.

Thanks!
Having played through a whole campaign, there were times where, because of crits, we rolled something like 9 or 10 dice for an attack. I only have 8 black dice so we had to reroll some of the dice and just make note of the previous results in the final tally. I've thought about tricking out my game with guild dice but that would then involve buying 7 or 8 packs of guild dice which is at least $40 depending on where you order them from. It's so much cheaper to buy two packs of black and white attack and defense dice and you'll never run out of dice that way (especially if you have the dice from the original game and the dice that will come with inferno.)

I think you're making the right call buy getting some more black and white dice and calling it a day.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas Aldrich
United States
Wausau
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I like dice and was going to do the same thing. I have 1 dice of the original four clans colors so far from the first kickstarter. I was going to buy three more sets so I had a set of four of each.

I figure if I get an attack that uses more than four I will just add black dice from the base game. Four dice will get most characters through a majority of a campaign.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick S
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have 19 black dice(I lost one in the mail).
And 12 white dice.
Base game plus three add on sets.

This is almost enough dice to share dice without having to reroll existing dice. I have run short on defense dice before.

I have 5 more sets purchased, that are on back order, plus what is coming with Inferno.
(I did/will trade/sell the guild dice)
This should be enough to keep a pile on each side of the table and eliminate rerolling attack/defense dice.

Note: We always reroll existing dice for the rerolls. Never adding new dice.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
so all in all rick, you have 10 sets of black and white dice?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick S
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CharlieX3 wrote:
so all in all rick, you have 10 sets of black and white dice?


Right now I have 8 black and 6 white from the base game.
I traded my guild dice for black but one got lost in the mail= 3 black, 2 white.
I bought two extra sets at gencon=8 black and two white.

19 black and 12 white.


This is almost enough dice for a community dice pool. I have found that a lot of times when we play AQ, we end up with a few dice hogging tanks. I remember specifically having a character build that used more than the 12 white dice that I own.


I have ordered 5 more sets that I do not have yet.

After Inferno delivers I will have the dice from two base games,
8 retail dice sets (-1 lost in the mail).
And a set of guild dice I will trade or sell the colored dice.

This should give me about twice as many dice as I need to not have to reroll dice.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks for the info! i'd like to avoid rerolling dice if possible too.

i guess i should have looked at how many come in packs and how many come with the base games before asking. hope it wasn't too much of a bother to take pics. much appreciated though!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I just now understood what you said about the dice hogging tanks... holy crap.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick S
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think a retail base game and four dice packs will give you a good community dice pool.

Crits complicate the issue, which is why I chose to double the count and put dice on both sides of the table and completely eliminate the "running out of dice" issue.

Keep in mind, you still want to reroll your rerolls.
I train my players to always add new dice for crits and save the rerolls for last.

Example: 3 dice rolled. 2 are crit.
Add and roll two new dice. (No crit). =5 dice on the table
Now they can use rerolls on the three dice that are not crits.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Maloney
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
"If trees could scream, would we be so cavalier about cutting them down? We might, if they screamed all the time, for no good reason." -Jack Handey
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bigblock75 wrote:
Example: 3 dice rolled. 2 are crit.
Add and roll two new dice. (No crit). =5 dice on the table
Now they can use rerolls on the three dice that are not crits.

Are you sure about that very last bit? I think you can use rerolls on anything you rolled, including additional dice from crits.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick S
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dormammu wrote:
bigblock75 wrote:
Example: 3 dice rolled. 2 are crit.
Add and roll two new dice. (No crit). =5 dice on the table
Now they can use rerolls on the three dice that are not crits.

Are you sure about that very last bit? I think you can use rerolls on anything you rolled, including additional dice from crits.



The two crits are the dice I am saying you can't reroll.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was thinking of going both bases (AQ & AQ:I) and 8 dice sets to match what you were doing. I have my math, right?

I'm a bit OC and I want games to go smoothly as possible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Maloney
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
"If trees could scream, would we be so cavalier about cutting them down? We might, if they screamed all the time, for no good reason." -Jack Handey
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bigblock75 wrote:
The two crits are the dice I am saying you can't reroll.

Right, but I'm saying you can reroll those dice. Rerolls can apply to any dice you rolled, including crits I thought.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick S
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dormammu wrote:
bigblock75 wrote:
The two crits are the dice I am saying you can't reroll.

Right, but I'm saying you can reroll those dice. Rerolls can apply to any dice you rolled, including crits I thought.


Perhaps it is an enterpretation error on my part... But.
-there is (usually) no reason to re-roll a crit. It counts as a success.
-I think if you do reroll a crit it has to be before it creates another die. (To avoid a "chicken or the egg" paradox, inception, situation).

Perhaps the way we are handling crits is a house rule.
If so, I really don't plan on changing it.

If I'm wrong, I would like to know.
I like to know the proper rules, even when I choose to ignore them.



CharlieX3 wrote:
I was thinking of going both bases (AQ & AQ:I) and 8 dice sets to match what you were doing. I have my math, right?

I'm a bit OC and I want games to go smoothly as possible.


Yes, that is the equivalent of what I will have.
I settled on this number way before Inferno. (Quantity in that box was not considered at the time(not worth cancelling the pre-order))
This should be roughly twice as many dice as you will have to roll in any single confrontation.

If I had to give a recommendation on dice quantity it would be:
Base game plus inferno, and 3 dice packs.
That should give a good community dice pool that you won't have to reroll "live" dice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Penrose
United States
Derby
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bigblock75 wrote:
Dormammu wrote:
bigblock75 wrote:
The two crits are the dice I am saying you can't reroll.

Right, but I'm saying you can reroll those dice. Rerolls can apply to any dice you rolled, including crits I thought.


Perhaps it is an enterpretation error on my part... But.
-there is (usually) no reason to re-roll a crit. It counts as a success.
-I think if you do reroll a crit it has to be before it creates another die. (To avoid a "chicken or the egg" paradox, inception, situation).

Perhaps the way we are handling crits is a house rule.
If so, I really don't plan on changing it.

If I'm wrong, I would like to know.
I like to know the proper rules, even when I choose to ignore them.



You are right. From the FAQ:

Quote:
CRIT
Q. Can I use a Reroll on a CRIT result?
A. You can only reroll a CRIT (and thus ignore its original result)
before rolling the extra die for the CRIT. Once you "accept" the
CRIT result by rolling the extra die, that CRIT can't be rerolled.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryn Ballard
United Kingdom
Woodley
Berkshire
flag msg tools
I Plan, Dice laugh
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
noahshu wrote:
I found the color dice really hard to see and use . They were more of a distraction imop.. I ended up selling them and getting more of the black and white dice .


The yellow ones are the worst.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lester Ortiz
Puerto Rico
Dorado
Puerto Rico
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
How many dice would you need for just two players?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick S
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ace Attorney wrote:
How many dice would you need for just two players?


There is enough dice in the base box to play the game.

If you are asking how many dice you will have to have to not share dice.

The first Arcadia Quest base game has equipment loadouts that can have you throwing 14 white defense dice at one time. It's nice to have more dice to add for the crits.

The crit mechanic makes it impossible to be able to tell you that, "you will have to have X amount of dice".

Check out my posts above for more opinions on dice counts.

Edit: my pre-ordered dice came in!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.