Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Legends of Andor: Journey to the North» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some ambiguities in rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
xav zz

Kazan
msg tools
Hello everyone! We have just bought the game, Russian version, and we cannot understand some points of its rules. Either we are not that smart to get them or the rules should have been written in a more specific way, or both.
The questions are as follows:
Is getting off/on the ship regarded as a separate turn of a player or is it an additional action to a movement?
What do the dice on the upgraded tiles of the ship stand for?
And what two last dice should be summed up when a wizard takes the mangonel?
Can a character use flasks to move to another island?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wolfram Troeder
Germany
Bruchkoebel
Hessen
flag msg tools
Boardgaming is not a matter of life or death...
badge
...it's much more important than that!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I try to answer your questions
xav1z wrote:
Hello everyone! We have just bought the game, Russian version, and we cannot understand some points of its rules. Either we are not that smart to get them or the rules should have been written in a more specific way, or both.
The questions are as follows:
Is getting off/on the ship regarded as a separate turn of a player or is it an additional action to a movement?

De-/boarding is part of movement and can be combined with any other kind of movement, viz. sailing, walking, rowing
xav1z wrote:
What do the dice on the upgraded tiles of the ship stand for?

These are used in legends for special rulings. Until then, this is of no concern.
xav1z wrote:
And what two last dice should be summed up when a wizard takes the mangonel?

No two dice, no sum. Do not let the Wizard shoot the mangonel.
xav1z wrote:
Can a character use flasks to move to another island?

Rowing with a boat? Yes, he can. The only movement this can not be used for is sailing.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
xav zz

Kazan
msg tools
Wolfram wrote:
I try to answer your questions
xav1z wrote:
Hello everyone! We have just bought the game, Russian version, and we cannot understand some points of its rules. Either we are not that smart to get them or the rules should have been written in a more specific way, or both.
The questions are as follows:
Is getting off/on the ship regarded as a separate turn of a player or is it an additional action to a movement?

De-/boarding is part of movement and can be combined with any other kind of movement, viz. sailing, walking, rowing
xav1z wrote:
What do the dice on the upgraded tiles of the ship stand for?

These are used in legends for special rulings. Until then, this is of no concern.
xav1z wrote:
And what two last dice should be summed up when a wizard takes the mangonel?

No two dice, no sum. Do not let the Wizard shoot the mangonel.
xav1z wrote:
Can a character use flasks to move to another island?

Rowing with a boat? Yes, he can. The only movement this can not be used for is sailing.


Thank you so much!! It is much clearer now
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gláucio Reis
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wolfram wrote:

De-/boarding is part of movement and can be combined with any other kind of movement, viz. sailing, walking, rowing

Are you sure, Wolfram? That's not what I understand from the English rules: "When a hero selects the move action, they can choose to sail with the ship. To do that, they must already be on board the ship." The last sentence seems to imply that you cannot combine sailing with other types of movement, and specifically embarking.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wolfram Troeder
Germany
Bruchkoebel
Hessen
flag msg tools
Boardgaming is not a matter of life or death...
badge
...it's much more important than that!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GSReis wrote:
Wolfram wrote:

De-/boarding is part of movement and can be combined with any other kind of movement, viz. sailing, walking, rowing

Are you sure, Wolfram? That's not what I understand from the English rules: "When a hero selects the move action, they can choose to sail with the ship. To do that, they must already be on board the ship." The last sentence seems to imply that you cannot combine sailing with other types of movement, and specifically embarking.


Yes, that's a bit ambigious written/translated.

But Micha Menzel stated her: http://legenden-von-andor.de/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=965 in the German forum, that you may combine all form of movements in on go SCNR
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.