Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Fire in the Lake» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can someone please explain Aid, Patronage, and above all Econ to me? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pastor Hank
United States
Louisiana
flag msg tools
Ok, so I am new to the COIN series, but I am determined to learn how to play Fire in the Lake. I am reading through the rules, and I just can't seem to get my head around what Aid and patronage are, and how they impact ARVN's resources (do they simply add to the total resources of ARVN?)

What really confuses me is Econ--I simply don't understand what it is/does.

Can someone please help me out? I'm hoping to teach a game next week with my family over Thanksgiving, but such a task would be impossible if I can't figure out these basic game rules=)

Thanks.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Carey
United States
Woodinville
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'll take a try at explaining it:

Aid= money from the US to run the war. During the coup round, aid is added to the ARVN resources. The more aid, the more resources the ARVN and US have to prosecute the war.

Econ= a way to prevent the US from spending all of the ARVN's resources. It is a yard stick of sorts, and when ARVN resources go below it, only they can spend the resources. The US cannot. Above that line, both sides can spend ARVN resources.

Patronage= another word for graft, for the benefit of the ARVN leadership (probably in a Swiss bank account). Patronage plus control is what wins the game for the ARVN. Patronage does not add to ARVN resources or do anything, it just counts for an ARVN victory.

I hope that is clear and helps.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rex Stites
United States
Lawrence
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb