Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

18OE: On the Rails of the Orient Express» Forums » Rules

Subject: 1st OR and Reserved 2+2 trains rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bob Schroeder
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmb
This has come up in a game. Minor F has track rights in Italy. It has declared its home hex to be Firenze. It is true Minor F gets a discount. It has track rights for Italy, also a discounted country. Thus Minor F does get a 50% discount. It has 110 at the start of its first OR. Its home hex of Firenze normally costs 30, so it now costs 15.


However, after paying for the terrain cost of the hex, Minor F now has 95, 5 short of buying its required reserved train. This gets a little complicated.
11,6.1 (page 39) Reserved Trains clearly states in the second paragraph that if the minor or regional does not have sufficient funds in its treasury in its first operating OR, then it must "force buy" the train from the Locomotive Works. So far, so good.

Under 11.6.4 Forced Train Purchases (page 40), the first paragraph leads one to believe a player can use his personal cash to buy the train. However, in the second column, after #4 is stated, It also says,

"A player may not deliberately force a RR into first-turn insolvency by spending money to lay track or purchase tokens. To prevent an insolvency that is about to occur, any token that the RR placed must be restored to the charter with the appropriate cash refund to the RR's treasury. If that does not prevent the insolvency, any track the RR placed that had a monetary cost associated with it must be removed from the Map with the appropriate cash refund to the RR's treasury.

The player has enough money in his personal treasury to finance the extra 5 needed. However, can he use his personal cash?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Frazier
United States
Amelia
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bob,

If the player has enough cash, they must use it to purchase the 2+2 train.

Insolvency occurs when the player does not have enough cash.

-Mark
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glen Pearce
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The insolvency only triggers if the president does not have the needed cash, thus in the scenario you laid out the president has the necessary cash and can use it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Calhoon
United States
North Fort Myers
Florida
flag msg tools
mb
Insolvency of opening minors almost never happens, the rule is there to prevent a player from taking actions that might force an insolvency. From a purely functional standpoint, the only time I saw an insolvency occur was due to an underfunded minor launching in England attempting to place its token in London by sea.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Fike
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hzark10 wrote:
This has come up in a game. Minor F has track rights in Italy. It has declared its home hex to be Firenze. It is true Minor F gets a discount. It has track rights for Italy, also a discounted country. Thus Minor F does get a 50% discount. It has 110 at the start of its first OR. Its home hex of Firenze normally costs 30, so it now costs 15.


However, after paying for the terrain cost of the hex, Minor F now has 95, 5 short of buying its required reserved train. This gets a little complicated.
11,6.1 (page 39) Reserved Trains clearly states in the second paragraph that if the minor or regional does not have sufficient funds in its treasury in its first operating OR, then it must "force buy" the train from the Locomotive Works. So far, so good.

Under 11.6.4 Forced Train Purchases (page 40), the first paragraph leads one to believe a player can use his personal cash to buy the train. However, in the second column, after #4 is stated, It also says,

"A player may not deliberately force a RR into first-turn insolvency by spending money to lay track or purchase tokens. To prevent an insolvency that is about to occur, any token that the RR placed must be restored to the charter with the appropriate cash refund to the RR's treasury. If that does not prevent the insolvency, any track the RR placed that had a monetary cost associated with it must be removed from the Map with the appropriate cash refund to the RR's treasury.

The player has enough money in his personal treasury to finance the extra 5 needed. However, can he use his personal cash?


One of the cool nuances to this game that first time players don't take advantage of is this exact point. You can bring minors to below $100 knowing full well you will have personal cash to back it up.

This means you don't need to overfund minors and can leave them at $120 and keep your cash versatile. Always pros and cons but it is nice to get those tokens placed and those terrains paid for and then take advantage of this to overfund a minor.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karsten Engelmann
United States
Springfield
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mike,

The very last bullet on top right of page 21, rule 9.1 states a minor cannot start its home token in a Metropolis, so it cannot start in London, right?

Thanks!
Karsten
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Frazier
United States
Amelia
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
karstenengelmann wrote:
Mike,

The very last bullet on top right of page 21, rule 9.1 states a minor cannot start its home token in a Metropolis, so it cannot start in London, right?

Thanks!
Karsten


Correct, you cannot start a Minor in London.

-Mark
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.